Get Amazon Music - Try it free
Get Amazon Music - Try it free

JFH Music Review

4HIM, The Basics Of Life

The Basics Of Life

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 57 minutes
Street Date: 1992


The Basics of Life by 4Him combines the best of upbeat gospel with heart-felt ballads to create an empowering, uplifting, and life-changing Christian album that is good for any age. Notable songs include "When It Comes to Livin'," an upbeat tune encouraging us to make the best of our only life; "Livin' in the Lion's Mouth," a slower song with a great message about firm faith, with soulful vocals; and the title track, a 3/4 waltz urging us to return to our Christian foundations, with string arrangments and great harmonies.

This album was debatedly 4Him's breakthrough album, and after just one listen, you can see why. The upbeat songs are enjoyable and uplifting, and the ballads will put you in a certain mood, specifically "Through His Eyes," a song about yearning to see the world through the eyes of God. The last few songs of the album, and "Built on Amazing Grace," are the shortcomings of the album, with a combination of repetition and strange lyrics, but even those songs are still somewhat enjoyable.

As for the 4/5 rating, it lacks a bit due to sounding somewhat dated. The keyboard sounds are trademarked from the 90's, and the vocal arrangements are kind of the same. "Head over Heels" in particular is a very strange way of communicating our feelings for God, but it's still catchy overall. As a whole, The Basics of Life encapsulates top-tier Christian Contemporary and Gospel combined as an album that can be enjoyed by any age range.

JFH Reader Review: - Review date: 12/9/21, written by Cody Clair for

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the debut single from Elijah Waters!


. Record Label: Benson Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 57 minutes
. Street Date: 1992
. Buy It: Apple Music
. Buy It:

  1. The Basics Of Life (5:13)
  2. When It Comes To Livin' (5:27)
  3. Fountain Of Youth (4:26)
  4. This Time (4:41)
  5. Through His Eyes (5:23)
  6. Built On Amazing Grace (4:45)
  7. Freedom (3:58)
  8. Livin' In The Lion's Mouth (4:20)
  9. When It's Time To Go (4:37)
  10. Head Over Heels (4:21)
  11. Wrecking Ball (4:28)
  12. The Voice Of God (5:35)



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the debut single from Elijah Waters!

Search JFH

This Friday, July 1, 2022
Bryan & Katie Torwalt I've Got Good News (Deluxe) [Capitol CMG]
Chagall Guevara Halcyon Days [Splint/The Fuel]
Citizens A Thousand Shores EP [Running Club]
Gable Price & Friends If I'm Being Honest EP [Capitol CMG]
SEU Worship Praise You Again - EP [Essential]

Anberlin Circles - Single [Equal Vision]
Anchor Hymns Christ Be All Around Me - Single [Integrity]
Apollo LTD Soul Worth Saving - Single [Centricity]
Maria Gilpin Beckoning - Single [7Core Music]
Leslie Jordan Love will Never Fail - Single [Integrity]
Brooke Ligertwood Honey In The Rock - Single [Capitol CMG]
Meredith Mauldin & UPPERROOM You Remain (feat. Elyssa Smith) - Single [DREAM]
Alexander Pappas Keep Your Word/Goodbyes - Single [Capitol CMG]

Next Friday, July 8, 2022
Andy Hunter The Prayer (independent)
Naomi Raine Journey [Tribl]
Switchfoot interrobang (Deluxe Edition) [Fantasy]
Tye Tribbett All Things New [Motown Gospel/Capitol CMG]
Vineyard Worship Room at the Table [Vineyard]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the New Album By Aryn Michelle!

Sign up for a JFH Indie Review

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images