Listen to the album by Chris Raww!
Listen to the new album by Chris Raww!

JfH OLD Music News

“Tears of the Saints” Hails Nomination for Song of the Year

NEWS SOURCE: Provident Label Group
February 15, 2008

Leeland (Nashville, Tenn.) February 15, 2008 – On the eve of the release of its sophomore project, Opposite Way, GRAMMY-nominated, progressive rock band Leeland has received further, prestigious recognition, as nominations were announced for the 39th Annual GMA Dove Awards, by the Gospel Music Association (GMA), yesterday (2/14) in Nashville. “Tears of the Saints” received a huge nomination, in the Song of the Year category, with nominations going to songwriters, Leeland Mooring and Jack Mooring. Leeland was recognized in the category of Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song, for “Tears of the Saints,” from the band’s debut project, Sound of Melodies (nods also going to songwriters, Leeland Mooring and Jack Mooring). Leeland Mooring also received a nod, as songwriter of the Michael W. Smith-recorded, “Be Lifted High,” which is up in the Inspirational Recorded Song category. In total, the band received one nomination, Leeland Mooring received three nominations as a songwriter, while brother Jack received two as a songwriter.

After learning of the nominations, Leeland Mooring commented, “We are so honored to be nominated this year. There are so many talented artists out there, and we are thrilled to be nominated. We appreciate all of the people that voted for us. This continues to be an amazing journey, and we are excited to see what God is doing.”

As one of the most buzzed-about bands in Christian music, Leeland emerged onto the scene in 2006 with their debut project and garnered four nominations in last year’s Dove Awards. The band’s second studio album, Opposite Way, will release February 26, 2008. Opposite Way was produced by Matt Bronleewe (Michael W. Smith, Natalie Imbruglia), mixed by Ben Grosse (Ben Folds, Red Hot Chili Peppers) and was recorded in Nashville, Tennessee at Smoak Stack Studios and Pentavarit Studios. The lead single from Opposite Way, “Count Me In,” is currently impacting CHR radio.

The Baytown, Texas-based band has had its hands full since the release of its debut album, including collecting a 2007 GRAMMY Award nomination in the Best Pop/Contemporary Gospel Album category; non-stop touring across North America and even Japan, including a series of major festival appearances, headlining shows and opening for Casting Crowns on the entire Fall 2007 through Spring 2008 “The Altar and the Door” arena tour; four band Dove Award nominations (38th Annual) in categories as diverse as New Artist of the Year, Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year (“Sound of Melodies”), Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year (Sound of Melodies) and Praise and Worship Album of the Year (Sound of Melodies). Leeland and Jack Mooring (Leeland’s brother) received two additional Dove Award nominations each, as songwriters, in the Worship Song category for “Yes You Have,” and the Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song category for “Sound of Melodies.”

Leeland is: Leeland Mooring (lead vocals, guitar); Jack Mooring (keyboard, background vocals); Jake Holtz (bass); Mike Smith (drums); and Matt Campbell (lead guitar).

For all upcoming tour dates and additional information on Leeland, visit or

# # #



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2021]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the New Christmas Single by We Are Vessel!

Search JFH

This Sunday, January 16, 2022
116 We Are Unashamed - Single [Reach]

This Monday, January 17, 2022
KJ-52 x Jonah Take Me Back - Single (independent)

This Friday, January 21, 2022
Meredith Andrews Make Room - Single [Word Worship]
Paul Baloche A Greater Song (anniversary album) [Integrity]
Amanda Danziger Vindicate - Single (independent)
Ricky Dillard Breakthrough: The Exodus (Live) [Capitol CMG]
Impending Doom Hellbent EP [eOne]
Selah So Beautiful (Sungguh Indah) [Indonesian single] [Integrity]

Next Thursday, January 27, 2022
Rusty Shipp Bottom of the Barrel - Single (independent)

Next Friday, January 28, 2022
Justin Gambino Courage - Single (independent)
Shane & Shane Worship in the Word [WellHouse]
Seventh Day Slumber Death by Admiration [RockFest]
Sunday Drive Grace & Goodness - Single [StowTown]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the debut album from Caitelen!

Listen to the new album from Cherry Hills Worship!