Listen to the new album from Tommee Profitt!
Listen to the new album from Tommee Profitt!

JFH Music News Report




The Almost, Fear Inside Our Bones
Click Here To Enlarge Album Cover

RSS Icon

April 1, 2013

THE ALMOST the acclaimed rock group have announced their third album FEAR INSIDE OUR BONES will now be released June 2013 via Tooth & Nail. The news comes as the beloved Seattle-based record label-previously in partnership with EMI/Universal—has just announced their move back to being an independent label. Tooth & Nail records president Brandon Ebel states, “The Almost is one of our first releases following the announcement of our opportunity to be a truly independent label again. In light of this, we are moving the release of Fear Inside Our Bones to ensure it has all the focus it deserves. We look forward to all the fans getting the chance to hear this awesome album and hope they understand our position re the delay so we can best serve The Almost and the fans.”

The album, is collecting early praise from rock critics, Revolver magazine declared, “Candid lyrics like this paired with the band’s decision to record completely live make for its most raw and organic album yet. Fear Inside Our Bones delivers thundering rhythms and crunchy guitars fans will love, at times even tapping into the pop-rock effervescence of the Foo Fighters.” (April). Elsewhere Alternative Press hailed, “On the Almost’s first album in nearly four years, Aaron Gillespie and his bandmates fire up the Wayback Machine to the ‘70s, employing fuzzed-out rock ‘n’ roll that’s big on bluesy licks and light on studio magic. There’s a visceral energy to “I’m Down” and “Never Be Like You,” the result of the Almost tracking these songs live and in rapid-fire fashion, and the title track might be the darkest song Gillespie has penned in quite some time.” The album’s first single “I’m Down” will impact Alternative and Rock radio in May. The first preview track is “Ghost,” which echoes with unbridled blues intensity before converging on a divinely heavy refrain is gathering steam. Listen to “Ghost” here:

To record FEAR INSIDE OUR BONES, THE ALMOST retreated to Nashville’s Omni Studios with producer Marshall Altman (Tom Morello, Ingrid Michaelson, William Fitzsimmons). All the songs were recorded together in a single room completely live. “It wasn’t a piecemeal process as the majority of modern records are,” explains GILLESPIE. “The album was born at that moment from our collective blood, sweat and tears.” In those five days, the musicians tapped into elegantly visceral energy built from a blues-rock vibe that they modernized. Other album highlights include the relentless rocker “Fight Song,” the powerful and complicated anthem “”I Won’t Let Go,” and “I’m Down” which streams ahead like a Southern freight train before the singer soulfully proclaims in the chorus, “Don’t count me out.”

THE ALMOST—AARON GILLESPIE (lead vocalist/lyrics/guitar), JAY VILARDI (guitars), DUSTY REDMON (guitars), JON THOMPSON (bass), JOE MUSTEN (drums)—are playing select dates previewing the new songs for their rising fan base nationwide. Expect the group to be on the road all summer long.

AARON GILLESPIE recently sat down with Jonah Bayer from SpinMedia’s PureVolume to discuss Fear Inside Our Bones. Check out the full Q&A below:

Aaron Gillespie PureVolume Q&A:

Catch THE ALMOST on tour in the following cities:
Tue 4/9 Little Rock, AR Juanita’s
Wed 4/10 Houston, TX Scout Bar
Thu 4/11 Dallas, TX The Prophet Bar
Fri 4/12 Lubbock, TX Texas Tech University
Sat 4/13 Brownwood, TX Howard Payne University
Sun 4/14 Waco, TX Common Grounds
Sat 4/27 Los Alamitos, CA Aaron Gillespie Worship @ Cottonwood Church
Fri 5/17 Chilliwack, Canada Aaron Gillespie Worship @ Prospera Centre

The acclaimed rock group THE ALMOST is fronted by Aaron Gillespie, founding member of Grammy-nominated Christian metal band Underoath, who have sold over 1.5 million records. THE ALMOST released their debut album Southern Weather in 2007 on Tooth & Nail/Virgin. Southern Weather debuted on the Billboard Top 200 chart at #39 with 29,000 copies sold in its first week and spawned their first single “Say This Sooner” which hit Top Ten at Alternative Radio and became the first of 10 Top Ten singles at Christian Rock Radio. In 2009, the group delivered Monster, Monster which Alternative Press hailed “a time-release pain killer: Once the emotionally charged rock gets into your system, its’ good for a long-lasting buzz” (November 2009). After touring with Paramore, The Starting Line, The Used and a trek on the Vans Warped Tour the group performed on Jimmy Kimmel Live! and have gone on to sell over 300,000 albums. The Almost have come a long way since the release of their debut, with the lineup–Gillespie, Jay Vilardi [guitars], Dusty Redmon [guitars], Jon Thompson [bass], and Joe Musten [drums]–solidified, in 2012 they retreated to Nashville’s Omni Studios with producer Marshall Altman (Tom Morello, Ingrid Michaelson, William Fitzsimmons). In five days, the musicians tapped into elegantly visceral energy built from a modernized blues-rock vibe and created FEAR INSIDE OUR BONES. Relentless and compelling, FEAR INSIDE OUR BONES was recorded completely live and is due out in JUNE on Tooth & Nail.

# # #

For more info on The Almost visit the JFH Artists Database.


Leave a Comment



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2018]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 23, 2020
Francesca Battistelli This Christmas [Curb/Word]
Colton Dixon Let It Snow - Single [Atlantic/Hear It Loud]
Earth Groans Waste EP [Solid State]
Fireflight Who We Are: The Head and The Heart [Rockfest]
Jason Gray Order Disorder Reorder [Centricity]
I Am They Faithful God [Provident]
Kari Jobe The Blessing [Sparrow]
Sarah Kruger Light [Integrity]
North Point Worship Abundantly More (live) - Single [Centricity]
Unspoken Good News - Single [Centricity]
Various Artists DREAM Christmas Vol. 5 [DREAM]

Next Friday, October 30, 2020
for KING & COUNTRY A Drummer Boy Christmas [Curb/Word]
JAG The Longest Road (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG The Only World In Town (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG Fire In the Temple (Remastered) [Girder]
Resistance Resistance EP [Integrity]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell [Capitol]
Matthew West Live Before the World Shut Down - EP [Story House]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Paul Demer!

  • Image Mulan
    PG-13 (Digital HD)

Listen to the new album from Since The Death!