Listen to the new compilation album from JFH!
Listen to the latest compilation album from JFH!

JFH Staff Review

Mortification, Break the Curse 1990-2010: 20th Anniversary Gold Edition

Break the Curse 1990-2010: 20th Anniversary Gold Edition

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Thrash Metal
Album length: CD/DVD: 29 tracks
Street Date: March 16, 2010


First released in 1990 as a cassette-only demo to be shopped to labels, Break the Curse found the group, then known as Lightforce, in full-on thrash mode, having migrated from the late '80s power metal stylings of the first two Lightforce efforts - 1987's Battle Zone and 1988's Mystical Thieves - and not yet having plunged headlong into the decidedly death metal trappings that informed the landmark 1992 Scrolls of the Megilloth record.

All of the usual accoutrements of the thrash metal idiom are in full effect on the Curse project: growled vocals, copious signature changes, rapid-fire drumming, the lo-fi D.I.Y production aesthetic borrowed from thrash's New Wave of British Heavy Metal roots, and nary a ballad in sight. While none of this resulted in opening slots for, or sales figures on the order of, revered outfits like Metallica, Megadeth or Slayer, Curse and the 1991 self-titled follow-up were, and still are, hailed as absolutely shining examples of their particular musical wheelhouse, earning founder/front man Steve Rowe and his cohorts the rare respect of their peers in the mainstream metal community - an impressive and noteworthy achievement that only a handful of artists in the Christian camp can claim.

Having already been released in 1994 on the Nuclear Blast imprint (the band's label at the time), one might rightly wonder if the beefed-up twentieth-anniversary effort is worth the fuss. For true fans, the answer is a hearty affirmative. From the studio version of "Time Crusaders," which was previously only available on a rare 1994 Australian metal compilation, to 1987's "Eyes of Destruction" from the 1987 Lightforce debut, and the entirety of the lengthily-named 1996 Noah Sat Down and Listened to the Mortification Live E.P. While Having a Coffee extended player, the gold-edition re-release is a veritable treasure trove of musical treats for those who appreciate bracing, well-delivered metal music.

In fairness, the addition of the early tracks and live EP cause the 2010 rendition to pale a bit, in terms of cohesiveness, to the 1990 and 1994 renderings. And the exclusion of "Butchered Mutilation," which appeared on the '94 record, means that the 2010 incarnation falls just shy of comprehensive. All of that said, the inclusion of all of the songs on the original 1990 album, together with the abovementioned bonus cuts and a veritable bevy of additional enticements (rare photos, a band history by Steve Rowe, a live DVD of the group's first concert under the Mortification moniker), make this a more than worthwhile purchase for both diehard fans and Christian music historians alike.

- Review date: 4/30/18, written by Bert Gangl of


. Record Label: Roxx Productions
. Album length: CD/DVD: 29 tracks
. Street Date: March 16, 2010
. Buy It: (CD)

    Disc: 1
  1. Blood Sacrifice
  2. Brutal Warfare
  3. Impulsation
  4. Turn
  5. New Beginnings
  6. Break The Curse
  7. Illusion Of Life
  8. Your Last Breath
  9. Journey Of Reconciliation
  10. The Majestic Infiltration Of Order
  11. Time Crusaders (Bonus Track) (from Godspeed Australian Christian Metal Compilation)
  12. Eyes of Destruction 1987 Lightforce Recording (Bonus Track)
  13. Envision a Beginning / Buried into Obscurity
  14. Steve Talks / Noah was a knower
  15. Interview with Steve

Disc: 2 - Live DVD

  1. Blood Sacrifice
  2. Brutal Warfare
  3. Illusion Of Life
  4. Break The Curse
  5. Journey Of Reconciliation
  6. Searching
  7. Infectious Growth
  8. City Streets
  9. Impulsation
  10. Bathed In Blood
  11. Eyes Of Destruction
  12. Your Last Breath
  13. New Beginnings
  14. The Majestic Infiltration Of Order/ Turn.)


 JFH Album Sample Player


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Read the new book, Angelic Wars: First Rebellion by Rick E. Norris!

Search JFH

This Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Hulvey Prelude [Reach]

This Friday, January 24, 2020
Colton Dixon Miracles - Single [Atlantic / Hear It Loud]
Chris Renzema Springtime - Single [Centricity]
Silent Planet The Night God Slept Redux [Solid State]
Tauren Wells Citizen of Heaven [Provident Label Group]
Chase Tremaine Unfall - EP (independent)

We Are The City RIP [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, January 31, 2020
Huntingtons ¡MUERTO, CARCEL, O ROCANROL! [Burnt Toast Vinyl]
Matt Redman Let There Be Wonder [Integrity]
Sammy Ward Hymns Anew [Vibraslap]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new double album from Jason Marion!

Listen to the new JFH Podcast episode!