Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!
Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!

JFH Music Review

PlankEye, Commonwealth


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 38 minutes, 34 seconds
Street Date: 1996

Plankeye's Commonwealth is a great album to sing your lungs out to. An engaging set of tunes combined with slick yet aggressive electric arrangements, this is a great album to have when you're alone driving down a highway and can sing as loud as you want. You'll even find yourself singing along with the guitar lines. Upon its release, the album was criticised for being too much of a departure in sound from their previous albums, a sound they returned to for their following album The One & Only. And while both The One & Only and The Spark are terrific albums, Commonwealth is the true gem and an album to adore.

Perhaps the album's strongest point is the yearning melodies. "Who Loves you more," "He," "Beautiful" and most notably "Push Me Down" are all gripping tracks which make you feel like your heart will burst. The other upbeat tracks, such as "Whisper to Me," lead single "B.C," "Placement" (make sure you catch the start of the second verse), "Struck by the Chord" and the title track, create a great balance throughout the album, taking you on a most invigorating ride.

The album has top production values and excellent talent to offer. There is not a dud song on here. I have nothing negative to say about the album. It's brilliantly executed, but I will just warn that Scott's voice may not be everyone's cup of tea. However, I am not in that camp.

Commonwealth is an album rocks out in an intelligent way, and you won't quickly get sick of it. It only seems to grow on you until you can't help but sing along from start to finish.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 2/25/10, written by Steven J Benbow for

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!

. Record Label: Tooth & Nail Records
. Album length: 10 tracks, 38 minutes and 34 seconds
. Street Date: 1996
. Buy It:

  1. Whisper To Me (2:50)
  2. B.C. (2:31)
  3. Push Me Down (Veiled) (5:19)
  4. Struck By The Chord (4:31)
  5. Placement (2:42)
  6. Commonwealth (4:16)
  7. He (3:47)
  8. Bicycle (4:08)
  9. Beautiful (4:05)
  10. Who Loves You More (4:22)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!

Search JFH

This Tuesday, April 16, 2024
iNTELLECT Roots [Polished Arrow]

This Friday, April 19, 2024
Anne Wilson REBEL [Capitol CMG]
Treasure Seeker A Tribute to the Past (Reissue) [Ulterium]
Vineyard Worship Christ In All Things - EP [Integrity]

Next Friday, April 26, 2024
Mack Brock Time and Time Again - EP [Centricity]
Aaron Cole Sorry, I Changed [RCA Inspiration]
Alex Henry Foster Kimoyo [Hopeful Tragedy]
Gileah Taylor Slow Parade [Velvet Blue]
Various Artists Unsung Hero The Inspired By Soundtrack

Nate Parrish I'm Alright - Single [Fair Vaux]
Unspoken What He Says About You - Single [Centricity]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Hope Beyond Suffering!

Listen to the new Album From Tim Juillet!

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images