Listen to the new album by Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Haste The Day

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks
Street Date: October 14, 2008

So, what if I said that while listening to the new Haste The Day album, Dreamer that thoughts of Pink Floyd and Pearl Jam were running through my mind? More on that later. Haste The Day's latest album is their fourth since signing with Solid State back in 2004, and they have come a long way. Even with a recent lineup change, they have delivered wonderfully.

"68" opens the album with breakneck speed riffs, wicked double bass drumming, and Stephen's wrenching screams followed by a melodic chorus which is Haste The Day all the way. The breakdowns are ever present on the track and throughout the rest of the album. "Mad Men" follows, arguably the best track on the album. The double bass and breakdowns get even better as the chorus sings, "The innocent will rest in the peace they've been given. Paintings will sleep on the floor. Build walls of lonely dreams as beauty fades. I can't take this anymore." And it just keeps on getting better from there. Songs like "Sons of a Fallen Nation" have crazy screams, "Haunting" will leave your neck hurting from head banging, and "Babylon" is about choosing sides in life. The band, as always, delivers a Godly message, such as in "An Adult Tree" where lyrics say, "Breath of a fallen angel, brings death if you breathe it in," while "Invoke Reform" delivers the lesson of not giving up in life.

Now to elaborate on the Pink Floyd and Pearl Jam thought I mentioned earlier. Haste The Day, in my opinion, has taken a rather large step outside of their comfort zone with the songs "Labyrinth" and "Autumn." The former begins with a marching band drum sound as a backdrop to soft spoken words and piano keys. I kept thinking that I was listening to "Dark Side of the Moon" or something. "Autumn" is a re-recording from their 2002 independent release That They May Know. It is a completely acoustic track bearing a sound that brings Eddie Vedder to mind. The hardcore fans may not appreciate the attempt to be more versatile, but I can't stop listening to either of these tracks. The band took a gamble musically and it paid off perfectly.

The other main change on the album are the talents of Stephen Keech, the band's front man and lead vocalist. His vocals are all over the map on this album, and they all sound great. He screams in multiple pitches as always, but also sings with apparent emotion and even has that raspy whisper voice down pat. This vocal versatility was less noticeable on their previous album, Pressure The Hinges. Now, on the flip side: some of the songs may be a little short in length and the guitar riffs - while great - sound similar throughout the album. That's about it, though. There are no fillers, and every track delivers exactly what we have come to expect from Haste The Day and more. Dreamer is definitely worth picking up the day it comes out.

- Review date: 10/12/08, written by Kevin Hoskins

Get the new book by Tanner Olson!


. Record Label: Solid State Records
. Album length: 11 tracks
. Street Date: October 14, 2008
. Buy It:

  1. 68
  2. Mad Man
  3. Haunting
  4. Resolve
  5. An Adult Tree
  6. Babylon
  7. Invoke Reform
  8. Sons Of The Fallen Nation
  9. Labyrinth
  10. Porcelain
  11. Autumn
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Get the new book by Tanner Olson!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 18, 2020
7eventh Time Down Questions - Single [BEC]
A Jesus Church Take Your Throne [BEC Worship]
Austin & Lindsey Adamec Can't Deny It - Single [Integrity]
Apollo LTD Better - Single [Centricity]
Cross Point Music Never Stop Singing - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Love Letter Kill Shot (Deluxe) [Tooth & Nail]
Fit for a King The Path [Solid State]
Austin French Wake Up Sleeper EP [Fair Trade]
Jordan Feliz Wounds - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray Right On Time - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne I AM [Provident]
Hulvey Otherside - Single [Reach]
Kari Jobe First Love (Live) EP [Capitol CMG]
Tasha Layton Into the Sea EP [BEC]
Ashlyn Levoy Something Better - Single [Centricity]
Local Sound Won't Let Go - Single [Running Club/Integrity]
Dr. James Mable Jr. The Journey 2.0 [eOne]
Evvie McKinney Look No Further - Single [Motown Gospel]
Chris Renzema Mercy - Single [Centricity]
REVERE REVERE (Live) [Integrity]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lamb - EP [RockFest]
SongLab My Favorite (Live From South Eden) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, September 25, 2020
Landry Cantrell Glasshouse [DREAM]
Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new children's album from The Block Worship!

Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!