Listen to the Album from Greg LaFollette!
Listen to the New Album From Greg LaFollette!

JFH Staff Review

Jon Foreman
Limbs and Branches

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 49 minutes, 54 seconds
Street Date: October 28, 2008

Between November of last year and June of this one, Switchfoot's Jon Foreman has released four season-themed EPs, titled Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer, respectively. While Switchfoot is known for their more sonic-fused, guitar-packed sound, these solo EPs showcased a softer, more organic side to Jon Foreman, not entirely unlike the earlier days of the band. Call it stripped-down acoustic, call it folk, call it Americana… the undeniable fact was that these efforts were a breath of fresh air, and deserving of all the praise they received. (For full reviews of all four, check out Fall/Winter and Spring/Summer)

Now, just under a year after releasing the first of the series, we are treated to a mostly unnecessary "fan favorites" album (to replace the two EP sets at retail), appropriately titled Limbs and Branches. Foreman allowed listeners to pick their favorites, and then he spruced up the list to make it more concise and balanced (In its final form, the disc includes two songs each from Fall, Spring, and Winter, and four from Summer). The real draw for this disc's target audience, though, will be the two new tracks included, "Broken from the Start" and "Over the River."

Limbs and Branches serves its purpose well. It showcases some of the finest that the four EPs had to offer, with little room for fault. Sure, it can always be said "Well, why wasn't this one included?" or "How did that one make the cut, and this one did not?" But when it comes down to it, this is essentially a fan favorite's record, so a margin for error is minimized. "Your Love Is Strong" wisely begins the project, and all of the essential bases are covered from there ("Instead of a Show," "Learning How to Die," "A Mirror Is Harder to Hold," etc).

The two new tracks included are nice complements to the rest of the album, but arguably do not stand on their own. In other words, Foreman fans that buy Limbs and Branches simply for these new recordings probably will not be disappointed, but neither will they be exceptionally impressed. It, perhaps, lends itself the fact that these new tracks have no encompassing idea in which to wrap themselves. There is no central idea or mood, a quality from which the rest of these recordings have benefited. Still, with repeated listens, their appeal grows infinitely, especially the album closer, "Over the River."

When it is all said and done, even though this is a nice, concise overview of exceptional music released over the last eleven months, you would still be much better off just picking up all four EPs and calling it a day. Limbs and Branches accomplishes its purpose and holds the distinction of being one of the finer, most complete-sounding compilations to be released this year, but it still just cannot replace the real thing. Die hards will want the new songs, but for all others, stick with the four seasons.

- Review date: 10/26/08, written by Josh Taylor

Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

Last year, Switchfoot's Jon Foreman gave music listeners a gift when he revealed his first solo EP, Fall. With each succeeding EP, Foreman revealed a new set of emotions and experiences inspired by the changing seasons of the year, and of life. With Limbs And Branches, EMI intends to replace the two retail double disc collections with one 12-song sampling. It's a bittersweet decision that seems premature at the least, as only 10 of the 24 EP cuts appear here with the addition of 2 new ones... And the new ones just don't rise above some of the brilliance and beauty that was pruned from the final track list. Limbs And Branches is still a strong collection of acoustic honesty and emotion in its own right, but the fact fans only get 12 songs here seems almost criminal. If you pick this up, make sure you get your hands and hearts on the missing 14 gems... - John DiBiase of



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Credential Recordings
. Album length: 12 tracks: 49 minutes, 54 seconds
. Street Date: October 28, 2008
. Buy It:

  1. Your Love Is Strong
  2. Behind Your Eyes
  3. The Cure For Pain
  4. Resurrect Me
  5. Southbound Train
  6. Broken From The Start *NEW
  7. House Of God, Forever
  8. Instead Of A Show
  9. A Mirror Is Harder To Hold
  10. In My Arms
  11. Learning How To Die
  12. Over The River *NEW
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!

Search JFH

This Friday, April 3, 2020
Anchor & Braille Dangerous - Single [Tooth & Nail]
August Burns Red Guardians [Fearless]
Bri Babineaux The Encounter [Tyscot/Integrity]
Dave Barnes Dreaming in Electric Blue (independent)
Bethel Music Egypt - Single [Bethel]
Elevation Worship My Testimony - Single (independent)
Equippers Revolution FRVR - EP [DREAM]
Greg LaFollette I'll Wait for you, My Love (independent)
Tasha Layton/font> Into the Sea (It's Gonna Be OK) - Single [BEC]
Mosaic MSC Fountain (I Am Good) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Natasha Owens Stand - Single [Radiate]
Passion Roar (Live From Passion 2020) (CD) [Sixsteps]
Planetshakers Glory Part Two EP [Venture3Media]
RED Declaration [RED/The Fuel]
Vineyard Kids We Shine - YouTube Single [Vineyard Worship/Integrity]
Wande Happy - Single [Reach]
Ian Yates Mystery [7 Core]

Next Friday, April 10, 2020
Charles Billingsley I Was Made for This [StowTown/Provident]
GAWVI Heathen [Reach]
The Inspirations Ever Old, Ever New [Horizon]
Mike Rathke The Drawing Fire EP (independent)

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the new book from JFH Staff Member Tin Can Caldwell!

Listen to the new album from Jacob Goiins!


Listen to the new album from Pictures of Silver!
All materials copyright of   ©1996-2020 Jesus freak Hideout. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy