Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!
Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!

JFH Staff Review

Matthew West, All In

Matthew West
All In

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Pop / Contemporary
Album length: 14 tracks: 49 minutes, 20 seconds
Street Date: September 22, 2017


Even the greatest artists have shelf lives. For a CCM icon like Matthew West who has crafted 7 studio albums (and 3 independent albums before that), the question that comes along with each release is simple: what's new? How does West attempt to provide fans what they want and still push genre boundaries and perfect his sound? With All In, West maintains his uplifting storytelling while dabbling with a more electronic palette and taking a few creative risks that don't always pay off.

Credit must be given to West for preserving clarity and consistency from the very beginning. By the end of the title track's first chorus, the general tone of the next 50 minutes is set. The electro-inspirational sound gives way to a surprising amount of acoustic drums and combines it with heavy percussion hits as a driving beat dresses up a simplistic chord progression. West holds on to this balance of 80% familiarity and 20% experimentation throughout the entire album, which makes for a comfortable listen overall.

West's formulaic songwriting and thoughtful lyrical imagery cements the album as distinctly one of his. Lines like "My feet are frozen on this middle ground/The water's warm but the fire's gone out" in "All In" are a dime a dozen here. The ongoing metaphor in "Mercy Is A Song" is also a treat. Topically, West seems to be most concerned with being sold out for Jesus ("Broken Things"), overcoming personal adversity ("Dream Again"), and appreciating the little moments in life ("The Beautiful Things We Miss"). As his fans know, West's stories can be both deeply personal and masterfully accessible enough that they can be applied to everyone, however, a couple of the songs here feel oddly detached. "Sound Of A Life Changing" seems to tell the tale of West's growing success, and although "1 Song" is directed towards God, it feels a lot more romantic in nature.

Although All In primarily consists of synths and electronic tendencies that work pretty well together, West does step outside the box a couple varying levels of success. "Amen" is an absolute barnburner that'll definitely leave you foot-stompin' and doing your best to catch up with West's rapid delivery. On the opposite end of the spectrum, "Power Love Sound Mind" doesn't work on any level. The spoken word section lacks vocal style and is completely mismatched with the alternative instrumentation, and the faux-dubstep chorus is quite jarring. Still, taking chances is better than playing it safe, and production choices like the lo-fi guitar on "Never Ever Give Up" and the familial cuteness on "Becoming Me" provide sonic depth to this album.

West has undoubtedly added another solid batch of tunes to his already expansive discography. There are likely going to be elements here that most people won't find suitable to their liking, be they electronic or experimental, but fans will likely stay for the engaging narratives and heartwarming positivity.

- Preview Review date: 9/12/17; Review date: 9/19/17, written by Mason Haynie of


JFH Staff's Additional 2 Cents

    CCM's beloved storyteller Matthew West is back with All In. With his seventh studio album West builds on the infectious positivity of 2015's Live On Forever, but pulls it off without being cheesy. Some tracks work better than others, but with highlights like "Mercy Is A Song," "Amen," and "The Beautiful Things We Miss," you can't go wrong here if you are looking for a solid CCM album. - 9/20/17 Christopher Smith


Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!
. Record Label: Sparrow Records
. Album length: 14 tracks: 49 minutes, 20 seconds
. Street Date: September 22, 2017 / June 22, 2018 (Digital Re-Release)
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: (CD)
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It: iTunes (2018 Re-Release)

  1. All In (3:31)
  2. Broken Things (3:07)
  3. Mercy Is a Song (3:45)
  4. Amen (3:15)
  5. The Sound of a Life Changing (3:26)
  6. Something Greater (3:19)
  7. Jesus & You (3:22)
  8. The Beautiful Things We Miss (3:23)
  9. 1 Song (2:55)
  10. Power Love Sound Mind (3:48)
  11. Never Ever Give Up (2:41)
  12. Dream Again (4:40)
  13. Becoming Me (feat. Lulu West) (4:05)
  14. You Are Known (4:03)

    2018 Re-Release Bonus Tracks:
  15. Broken Things (Acoustic) (3:08)
  16. All In (Acoustic) (3:33)
  17. Mercy Is a Song (Acoustic) (3:42)
  18. The Beautiful Things We Miss (Acoustic) (3:24)
  19. Jesus & You (Acoustic) (3:22)


 JFH Album Sample Player


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

Search JFH

This Monday, August 3, 2020
Jonah Fear (feat. Anomaly) - Single (independent)

This Friday, August 7, 2020
Apollo LTD Patience - Single [Centricity]
Mack Brock Savior Of The World - Single [Capitol CMG]
Disciple Darkness Dies - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Danny Gokey, Evan Craft & Redimi2 Ama a Dios y a Tu Vecino - Single [Capitol CMG]
Grandpa Loves Rhinos Searching in the Sarchasm [Indie Vision Music]
Jason Gray Glory Days - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne Speak to Me - Single [Provident]
Coby James Whatever - Single [Centricity]
Lydia Laird Lydia Laird - EP [Provident]
Lecrae Zombie - Single [Reach]
Chris McClarney Café Sessions EP [Capitol CMG]
North Point Worship Praise Your Name [Centricity]
Passion & Tide Electric There’s Nothing That Our God Can’t Do (Reimagined/Tide Electric Remix) [feat. Kristian Stanfill] - Single [Capitol CMG]
Rend Collective Socially Distant Worship Club (Part 1) EP [Capitol CMG]
Jamie Rowe This is Home Vinyl [Girder]
John Schlitt Go Vinyl [4K]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lion - EP [Rockfest]
Social Club Misfits Up (GSM Remix) - Single [Capitol CMG]
We The Kingdom Holy Water [Capitol CMG]

Next Thursday, August 13, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]

Next Friday, August 14, 2020
Bride Drop (25th Anniversary Edition) [Girder Records]
Tori Kelly Solitude EP [Capitol]
Life.Church Worship Jesus Is Near EP [DREAM Worship]
PEABOD Heavenly Father - Single [Centricity]
Kim Walker-Smith Wild Heart (Live) [Sparrow/Jesus Culture]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from I.AM!

Listen to the new album from The Grace Collective!