Listen to the new album from Acoustic Truth!
Listen to the new album from Acoustic Truth!

JFH Staff Review

Relient K
Must Have Done Something Right (Bonus Version) Digital Single

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 2 tracks: 6 minutes, 54 seconds
Street Date: November 28, 2006

To say iTunes and other online music distributors have revolutionized the way people listen to music would be an understatement. And though there are still those, like myself, that prefer to hold something of substance in hand, there is no denying the convenience of a simple mouse click, followed by instant gratification.

It is that instant gratification that ignited said revolution, and the industry has been working overtime to capitalize on this new medium. Gotee Records has chosen to do so by releasing a digital single from the best thing they have going for them, Relient K. The two-track sampler includes a song from their upcoming Five Score and Seven Years Ago, releasing March 6th of next year, as well as a bonus non-album track, available exclusively on the digital single.

The former track, "Must Have Done Something Right," is a fun, catchy ode to young love between a remarkable girl and an admittedly undeserving guy, "We should get jerseys, because we make a good team. But yours would look better than mine, because you're out of my league." The Matt Thiessen-penned lyrics are spot-on as usual. Perhaps a bit cliché in places, but the song actually pokes fun at itself in that aspect, with Thiessen openly admitting how cliché his professions of love really are.

The song sounds a lot like the musical direction Relient K took on "The Truth" from their Apathetic EP late last year. That is, it's similar to the songs of mmhmm, but there are notable differences. The one word to describe it is catchy. However, Relient K lays it on with guitar crunches that let you know that this is not pop music.

The bonus track, "Fallen Man," has a notably darker tone to it. The verses talk about a person who has lost the trust of a friend ("A friend that goes so far as to say, Because the judge of you is someone I could never be, is why you should thank the Lord that it is Him, and it's not me."). The mood brightens, both lyrically and musically, once the chorus hits, promising that… "With every passing second comes a second chance again." It's a redemptive song, not nearly as catchy as the first track, but with much more meat to it.

A year has passed since the Apathetic EP, and it is very courteous of Relient K to whet our appetites for new music once again. Thankfully, this time the wait will not be nearly as long as the last one. And if this EP is any indication of what is to follow come March 6th, it will be well worth it.

- Review date: 12/01/06, written by Josh Taylor

. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Gotee Records
. Album length: 2 tracks: 6 minutes, 54 seconds
. Street Date: November 28, 2006
. Buy It: iTunes

  1. Must Have Done Something Right
  2. Fallen Man
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Visit Girder Music!

Search JFH

This Thursday, June 17, 2021
NEEDTOBREATHE Sunshine - Single [Elektra]

This Friday, June 18, 2021
Cody Carnes Too Good To Not Believe (Live) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Jason Crabb Just As I Am - EP [Red Street]
Amy Grant Don’t Ever Want To Lose It (Wind In The Fire) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Jason Gray What I Wish For You - Single [Centricity]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Gotta Believe - Single [Motown Gospel]
Maverick City Music Jubilee: The Juneteenth Edition [Tribl]
Meadows The Depths - Single [Facedown]
Social Club Misfits Without You (Abe Parker Remix) - Single (feat. Riley Clemmons) [Capitol CMG]
Michael W. Smith Dusty Road - Single [Rocketown/The Fuel]
Switchfoot Flourescent - Single [Fantasy]
John Waller What My Father Does (feat. Sophee Waller) - Single [Radiate]
Brian Courtney Wilson Be Real Black For Me (feat. Ledisi) - Single [Motown Gospel]

Next Friday, June 25, 2021
Ellie Holcomb Canyon [Capitol CMG]
Make Sure Girl Drummer - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Patrick Mayberry No One Like You Lord (Acoustic) - Single [Centricity]
Phil Wickham Hymn of Heaven [Fair Trade]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from White Stone Receivers!

Listen to the new album from Jaime Masetta!