Get Your Music on Amazon!
Get Your Music on Amazon!

JFH Music Review


Julian Drive, My Coming Day
Julian Drive
My Coming Day



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 39 minutes, 35 seconds
Street Date: January 27, 2009


Julian Drive is the latest signing of Inpop. The group has been touring for years, and has put out their own album, but up until this point, they have not had a significant national release. However, Inpop Records decided to start the new year of 2009 by releasing Julian Drive to the masses.

The album opens with the song "From Your Hands," which is a song that is very thought provoking. It tells the story of Jesus' sacrifice on the cross and speaks of the true love that flows from his hands. The song could be sung from any one of our perspectives, allowing it to reach audiences on a personal level.

From the first guitar riff of the next song, "Always there," you can begin to hear the overall sound of the project. This is confirmed on a later song, "Not My Fight." It's these songs that make Julian Drive a great listen. Inpop describes the project with a sound that's familiar and comfortable, and that is definitely true. Dispersed every so often is a softer song, making use of some acoustic guitar and keyboards. These help to bring the album down, allowing for more focus on the lyrics, which are indeed very well written.

Julian Drive is one of those bands that will succeed because they had an independent career before being signed by a label. The band has had to work to make their name, and because of this, they know how to produce great songs.

The only real problem with the project is that it is too short. This may be deliberate, perhaps just to give us enough to whet the appetite. Also, those who have already heard of Julian Drive will find that this project is a re-release of their original work from just over a year ago. At least one new track would have been nice.

The title of the album, My Coming Day, gives the impression of greater things to come, and there is no doubt, Julian Drive is one of the bands to watch out for this year.

- PReview date: 11/27/08, Review date: 1/25/09, written by David Couch class="coversize" align=right> Early Thoughts...
Julian Drive, Inpop Records' latest signing, are getting ready for their first national release in January. However, this isn't the first time that this project has been heard. Back in 2007, the guys had already released My Coming Day in a limited run independently. So if you were clued up back then, there is nothing new here (except for the Inpop logo on the case!). For those of you who have never heard of Julian Drive, though, it would definitely be a good idea to check out this debut. "From Your Hands" (currently on radio) is a song about Christ's death on the cross, giving the listener something to think about. "Always There" really sets the project's sound. As confirmation of this, a later track called "Not My Fight" sounds similar, but at the same time is entirely different. To change things up a bit, Julian Drive add in a couple of piano driven songs (one in particular is called "One Step Away"). The effect works well, bringing down the tone of the music leading to a more personal worship feel. Definitely keeping an eye on this band!

- PReview date: 11/27/08, written by David Couch --->



(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new EP from John Finch!

 

. Record Label: Inpop Records
. Album length: 10 tracks: 39 minutes, 35 seconds
. Street Date: January 27, 2009
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. From Your Hands
  2. Always There
  3. Cry
  4. In You
  5. Not My Fight
  6. One Step Away
  7. Unplug
  8. You Can
  9. The Reason
  10. My Coming Day
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

              
Check out the new EP from John Finch!

Search JFH




This Friday, August 12, 2022
ALBUMS
Norma Jean Deathrattle Sing for Me [Solid State]

SINGLES
Amanda Danziger Refining Fire - Single (independent)


Next Friday, August 19, 2022
ALBUMS
TobyMac Life After Death [Capitol CMG]

SINGLES
Starflyer 59 The Rocky Valentines - Single [Velvet Blue]

For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the New Album By Dan Loch & Jarred Cain!




Sign up for a JFH Indie Review

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images