Listen to the new remix album from August Burns Red!
Listen to the new remix album from August Burns Red!

JFH Staff Review


Only You - EP

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Pop
Album length: 9 tracks: 33 minutes, 23 seconds
Street Date: July 17, 2015


Shine Bright Baby's husband and wife duo are back, but something's missing. Sometime back in May of this year, the band issued an official name change. Shine Bright Baby would now be known as SHINEBRIGHT. Along with that announcement came even bigger news: the release of their first single from their upcoming EP, Only You.

The first single from the EP is "Reckless for Love." Right from the start this song explains how we need to hold nothing back, including the love of Christ, sharing that love with reckless abandon. The theme encourages us to not let anything or anyone get in the way of us showing His love. Another great feature to this track is that it's enhanced with the talents of DREAM Records' Jonathan Thulin. The alternate version (the one without Thulin) is also included on the EP as the ninth and final track.

Opening the EP is "Closer to the Sun." This tune offers an encouraging message of how God is there to take us under His wing and carry us away from everything in this world that may keep us away from Him (fear, doubt, etc). After the aforementioned "Reckless for Love" is "Limitless;" keeping the tradition of collaborations going, the mad rhyme skills of Rapture Ruckus are included to spice things up a bit. Personally, this one isn't one of my top picks, but the message is a positive one in line with the rest of the EP. "Limitless" clearly puts an emphasis on the well-known verse from Philippians 4:13, "I can do all things through Christ, who gives me strength." (NIV)

Now on to the title cut (and this reviewer's personal favorite); "Only You" simply puts the whole EP into perspective and every lyric in the song is proof. God can and will do everything that He promises us in Him. We don't have to be afraid by what goes on in this world. We know that in the end, we win.

Now comes the final piece of the puzzle: "Spectacle of Light." Relying on ourselves to make it through this life is one thing we as Christians are instructed not to do, and this song helps explain why that statement is so true. The first two lines, "In and of myself there is so much darkness. In and of myself I am so, so helpless," say it all. Later on, the lyrics talk about burning bright for God and giving everything to Him. This one ranks second on my list of favorites from this release. The remaining tracks are the remixes. "Only You," "Closer to the Sun" and "Limitless" are the chosen trifecta to meet the synthesizers.

Overall, Only You is excellent as far as the songs' themes are concerned. A few tracks stood out more than others, but the style and feel of the entire EP is rather enjoyable. Only You does the job it's set out to do; it has me anxiously awaiting the release of their sophomore full-length project.

- Review date: 7/7/15, written by David Pickerall of


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

ShineBright may not have turned many heads with Dreamers two years ago, but with wings spread wide, Only You promises to take the band to new heights. From the dreamy electronic tones of "Closer To The Sun" to the epic pop soundscapes of "Spectacle of Light," this 33-minute EP displays a band more confident with who they are and unafraid to experiment with their style. The runaway hit of this album is the infectiously catchy "Reckless For Love," which features the intriguing vocal talent, Jonathan Thulin. There are a couple of areas that could have used more work, particularly the unbalanced mixing during the rap of gritty EDM flavored "Limitless," but these moments hardly interrupt the flow of the album. Included on this extensive EP are three remixes of these new tracks from Unikron, Matthew Parker, and David Thulin. Two of the remixes are a success--especially Matthew Parker's fantastic rendition of "Limitless"--but David Thulin's "Only You" is underwhelming. Rounding out the EP is an alternate version of "Reckless For Love." The only difference between this song and its original is that Emily Fertig sings the second verse instead of Thulin, though his backing vocals remain in the rest of the song, making its inclusion redundant. Despite these missteps at the end of the EP, Only You remains a fun summer album and an exciting direction for ShineBright. - Review date: 7/14/15, written by Christopher Smith of


. Record Label: BEC Recordings
. Album length: 9 tracks: 33 minutes, 23 seconds
. Street Date: July 17, 2015
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It:

  1. Closer to the Sun (3:30)
  2. Reckless for Love (feat. Jonathan Thulin) [Album Version] (3:21)
  3. Limitless (feat. Rapture Ruckus) (3:24)
  4. Only You (3:00)
  5. Spectacle of Light (3:46)
  6. Closer to the Sun (Unikron Remix) (4:21)
  7. Limitless (Matthew Parker Remix) (4:27)
  8. Only You (David Thulin Remix) (4:17)
  9. Reckless for Love (3:21)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Music News Headlines

.Sibling Trio Scarlet Fade Releases New Music Video Today
  Tue, 25 Jun 2019 12:25:00 EST
.Switch Holds #1 Spot for 8 Straight Weeks
  Tue, 25 Jun 2019 12:25:00 EST
.Lauren Talley Stirs Wonder and Awe of God with Two New Albums
  Tue, 25 Jun 2019 12:15:00 EST
.DRAUCKER Makes Sibling Rivalry Rock with Debut EP
  Tue, 25 Jun 2019 12:10:00 EST
.Skillet Announces Co-Headlining Victorious Sky Tour with Alter Bridge
  Mon, 24 Jun 2019 12:30:00 EST
.MARK209 Releases New Music Video
  Sun, 23 Jun 2019 15:10:00 EST

.CLICK HERE for all of the News!

Listen to the new remix album from August Burns Red!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, June 28
For All Seasons Life In Your Love - Single [Centricity]
Mark Lee Your Love Will Find Me - Single (independent)

Next Friday, July 5
**No known releases**

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Adam Watts!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads