Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!
Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!

JFH Music Review

Superchick, Reinvention


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 37 minutes, 5 seconds
Street Date: April 20, 2010

When a band decides to make a musical overhaul, it can either be a welcomed move by their fanbase or one that completely divides the same. A polarizing band from day one, Superchick has seemingly chosen to undertake one of these actions in the form of appropriately-titled Reinvention. Comprised of nine remixed songs from all four previous studio albums, plus three all-new tracks exclusive to this release, it's for the most part a rewarding listen through and through.

The remixes Superchick present here are more-or-less a hit-and-miss concept. With four songs from Rock What You Got, three from Beauty From Pain, one from Last One Picked, and one from Karaoke Superstars, it's a decent mix of past and present material. "Pure" feels a little too much like the original, while others just don't make much of an improvement ("Bowling Ball," "Wishes"). On the other hand, while Reinvention probably hones too much on their most recent studio release Rock What You Got, the remixes of its tracks are superior to the originals, revealing a large asset for Reinvention upfront. While the somewhat weak lyrical quality of the tracks is still present, the music behind it is a definite improvement. The best, and most fun, remix of the bunch is that of "Karaoke Superstars," begging for loud play with the windows down in your car. The remixes as a whole are definitely a mature step in the right direction for Superchick, and anticipation for their next studio record of all-new material is high as a result.

The completely new material isn't too shabby, either. "Still Here" feels a little too average by Superchick standards, but the other two don't suffer from this problem. "With You" (performed solely by lead singer Tricia Brock) is a pleasant contrast to the rest of the record with its solo acoustic guitar sound, though the song is far too short in length. But the best track on the album by far is "Let It Roll," featuring bassist Matt Dally on lead vocals. Refreshingly forsaking his poor rapping from the previous remix record (Regeneration), Dally brings forth an accomplished song with a catchy beat and excellent message of maintaining self-control.

Fans of the band should certainly make an investment in Reinvention, and even those jaded by Superchick in the past wouldn't make a bad choice in the album either. It's a welcomed addition to Superchick's catalog, and while there are more than a few noticeable issues one cannot ignore, it's in the end a better remix album than Regeneration. If this is the direction that Superchick is deciding to take their sound, the veteran band's future is looking quite bright.

- Review date: 4/18/10, written by Roger Gelwicks of

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new album from Rev Music!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

In 2003, Superchic[k] released their first remix album, Regeneration, which consisted of eight remixed tracks from the band's first two albums and one new song. Seven years and two more albums later, the band's second remix project comes in the form of Reinvention. This time, Superchic[k] offers 12 tracks in all and throws in three new songs. While two of the new songs are emotionally charged ("Still Here" and "With You"), the group's fresh material isn't the main event. Rather, the band's slick re-production of a handful of their most popular songs is what will please fans. Superchic[k]'s resurrection of "Karaoke Superstars" is especially pleasant, but we really didn't need another version "One And Lonely." The major difference between Regeneration and Reinvention is that the band made major changes to the songs they remixed on Regeneration, including "Hero," "One Girl Revolution," and "Stand Up." Although songs like "Cross The Line (Box Office Blockbuster Mix)" are catchy and mixed very well, the lack of true originality expressed on Reinvention is frustrating in hindsight. Throw in the lack of spiritual depth in the lyrics and you have a fun pop/rock album which could have been better than it is. - Nathaniel Schexnayder


. Record Label: Inpop Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 37 minutes, 5 seconds
. Street Date: April 20, 2010
. Buy It:

  1. Cross The Line (Box Office Blockbuster Mix) (2:39)
  2. Rock What You Got (Fight Underdog Fight! Mix) (2:38)
  3. Let It Roll (Matt Dally Feat. Superchick) (3:10)
  4. Karaoke Superstars (Shiny Car Advert Mix) (Feat. ThumpMonks) (3:17)
  5. Hey Hey (Vampires Vs. Cheerleaders Mix) (3:24)
  6. One And Lonely (Chick Flick Mix) (2:39)
  7. Breathe (Don't You Die On Me Mix) (4:31)
  8. Bowling Ball (Not That Into You Mix) (3:16)
  9. Pure (Brand New Day Mix) (3:14)
  10. Wishes (Teens Falling In/Out Of Love Mix) (2:47)
  11. Still Here (3:16)
  12. With You (by Tricia Brock) (2:14)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new album from Rev Music!

Search JFH

This Thursday, May 19, 2022
Switchfoot interrobang (b-side) - Single [Fantasy]

This Friday, May 20, 2022
Avalon Worship Avalon Worship [Red Street]
Bryan & Katie Torwalt I've Got Good News [Capitol CMG]
Amanda Cook State of the Union [Provident]
DeGarmo and Key No Turning Back Live (1982) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Mission of Mercy (1983) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Communication (1984) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Commander Sozo (1985) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Streetlight (1986) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key D&K (1987) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key The Pledge (1989) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
Gateway Worship Español Grande Y Fiel (Great And Faithful) [Gateway/Integrity]
Watashi Wa People Like People [Tooth & Nail]

Maverick City Music Kingdom (feat. Kirk Franklin) - Single [Tribl]

Next Thursday, May 26, 2022
ICF Sunday Night Perfect Love - Single [Integrity]

Next Friday, May 27, 2022
ICF Worship Here's To The One We Love [Integrity]
Mission House Live From Raleigh [Integrity]

Ian Yates God You’ve Never Failed Me - Single [7 Core]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the New EP by Iryne Rock!

Sign up for a JFH Indie Review