Listen to the Album from Swingin Hammers!
Listen to the New Album From Swingin Hammers!

JFH Staff Review

Slospeak & Friends Summer Soundtrack

Various Artists
Slospeak & Friends Summer Soundtrack

Genre(s): Rock / Indie / Alternative
Album length: 18 tracks: 63 minutes, 8 seconds
Street Date: July 24, 2015


Still just a fledgling in the music industry, Slospeak Records boasts a small, but impressive, line-up of artists, as well as a strong and diverse discography. In addition to releasing albums from Fever Fever, Talkie, Golden Youth, Ravenhill, etc., the label has also made friends with some notable independent artists. As the summer of 2015 wound down to a close, Slospeak gathered some songs from these artists for their latest sampler, Slospeak & Friends Summer Soundtrack, and it's ripe with fresh, young talent.

This summer soundtrack features five songs from the Slospeak camp. Fever Fever's terrific "Aftermath" gets the whole thing started, and Talkie's Nirvana/Foo Fighters-esque "Bugs" follows it up with a fantastic rock sound that's pretty rare these days (that Talkie EP is a good one, I might add). Golden Youth provides us with a brand new song called "In A Dream," and it has me pumped for another release from this breathtaking indie pop act. Ravenhill offers up the southern gospel-fueled rock track "Witches," from their long-awaited Soul, and Pioneer gives us a taste of their latest EP with "Nothing Left To Lose." Additionally, though not signed with Slospeak, there are also some other recognizable names here. Mike Mains and the Branches offer up "Noises" from their 2014 album Calm Down, Everything Is Fine, and the newly-independent Poema gives us "Forget You In LA," which is a lot different than anything the girls produced with Tooth & Nail. Slightly grittier and less poppy, this is a new Poema, and I really dig what I've heard so far.

The other eleven songs are a mix of names I recognize but am not familiar with, and artists I've never heard of before. Cardboard Kids and Secret Club provide a pair of upbeat rock songs, a la The Hives. There's no messing around here, as the songs are short and straight to the point. Other songs, like Fleurie's "Fire In My Bones," Joseph's "Lifted Away," and Cappa's "Hush" bring to mind artists like Lorde and CHVRCHES with their R&B-fueled indie pop. A Yawn Worth Yelling, Million Trillion and YUTH add a nice alternative/indie flavor to the mix, but the sampler does take a slight turn for the worse near the end. While not horrible by any means, "When My Heart Says Goodbye" by Chasing Lovely, "Go Slow" by Lenachka, and "Wake Up" by The Mailboxes feel like passable, poor choices for an otherwise stupendous sampler.

Samplers often come across as money grabs nowadays, with labels pushing ten- to fifteen-track compilations of songs they've already released before. Slospeak, however, has the right idea, with most of the tracklist composed of non-label friends they just want you to know about, and they aren't charging you for it. Despite a few missteps, the Slospeak & Friends Summer Soundtrack is an excellent sampler, and, again, it's completely free on NoiseTrade. Yup, free. Go get it now.

- Review date: 11/3/15, written by Scott Fryberger of

Check out the new album from Jason Call!


. Record Label: Slospeak
. Album length: 18 tracks: 63 minutes, 8 seconds
. Street Date: July 24, 2015
. Download It: Noisetrade

  1. Aftermath - Fever Fever (3:21)
  2. Bugs - Talkie (2:47)
  3. Fire In My Bones - Fleurie (3:36)
  4. In A Dream - Golden Youth (3:26)
  5. Noises - Mike Main and the Branches (2:55)
  6. Forget You In LA - Poema (4:07)
  7. Witches - Ravenhill (4:38)
  8. Lifted Away - Joseph (3:51)
  9. Nothing Left To Lose - Pioneer (3:36)
  10. Start Somewhere - A Yawn Worth Yelling (4:07)
  11. Don't Spit In The Sink - Cardboard Kids (3:17)
  12. I Do What I Want - Secret Club (2:00)
  13. Hush - Cappa (3:19)
  14. Get Better - Million Trillion (3:24)
  15. Start Again - YUTH (3:47)
  16. When My Heart Says Goodbye - Chasing Lovely (3:18)
  17. Go Slow - Lenachka (3:34)
  18. WAKE UP - The Mailboxes (4:12)






Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new album from Jason Call!

Search JFH

This Monday, May 18, 2020
Remedy Drive Living Room Anthology, Vol. 1 (independent)

This Thursday, May 21, 2020
Christafari Fly [Lion of Zion]

This Friday, May 22, 2020
Anchor & Braille Tension [Tooth & Nail]
Pat Barrett No Weapon - Single [Capitol CMG]
Landry Cantrell Glasshouse EP [DREAM]
Kari Jobe The Blessing (feat. Cody Carnes) - EP [Capitol CMG]
Hillsong UNITED Another in the Fire - EP [Capitol CMG]
Marc Martel A One-Take Rhapsody - EP [The Fuel]
Passion There's Nothing That Our God Can't Do (Radio Version) [feat. Kristian Stanfill] - Single [Capitol CMG]
We Are Leo IWKY (feat. Elizabeth Grace) [HGHTS Remix] [DREAM]

Next Friday, May 29, 2020
Deathbreaker Isolate [Facedown]
Nashville Life Music Sing A Song (Part 2) [feat. Aaron Cole] - Single [Integrity]
North Point Worship Hallelujah (Why We Sing) / O What A Miracle - Double Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Heart First - Single [Curb/Word]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the new album from Benjamin Daniel!

Listen to the new album from Crystal Rome!