Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!
Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!

JFH Indie Review

JFH Indie Inspection Review

FKA Promise
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE


FKA Promise
Break Through - Single

Artist Info: Discography
Street Date: April 12, 2021
Style: Modern Worship, Art-Pop
Social Media: Instagram
Buy It: iTunes



FKA Promise is a multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter, producer and MC who, through Christ, overcame a life of pain and addiction. FKA Promise now devotes his life, and musical output, to testify to the goodness he has experienced since coming to know Jesus. Our very own Josh Balogh even gave him props as a top indie artist to watch out for last year. FKA Promise released a three-song EP in 2020, but is back with his new single, "Break Through." The new song starts out with FKA Promise talking about some issues in his past and later features a brief interlude that tells the story of the day a friend's life was changed. In a song about breaking through past struggles and coming to victory and the power of Christ, FKA Promise sings, "From the rising of the sun. To the horizon salvation has come -- and we pray. Form the rising of the sun. To the holy mountain -- the work's just begun." Musically, the song has a super chill vibe that borders on pop and club sounds. The steady "dance beat" keeps pumping in the background, but the intensity stays low to give it an overall mild, but enjoyable feel. The additional music (keys, pads, and guitar) also gives it a very atmospheric sound that just adds to the aesthetic. "Break Through" is a great story of turning from a life of drugs and trouble to finding peace and purpose in Jesus Christ. Fans of a worshipful pop sound will likely find a lot to like about FKA Promise and "Break Though." There's no denying the infectious nature of this song as it plays on repeat. I echo Mr. Balogh's sentiment on FKA Promise and look forward to what he does next.

- Review date: 4/23/21, written by Michael Weaver of Jesusfreakhideout.com


Listen to the new single by Jeremy Lopez!

 

. Record Label: None
. Album length: 1 track: 5 minutes, 34 seconds
. Street Date: April 12, 2021
. Buy It: iTunes

  1. Break Through (5:34)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 


 



  • Jesus freak Hideout (Michael Weaver): Who do you get your musical inspiration from? I really like the way you put this song together with such a chill vibe and aesthetic?

    FKA Promise: Hey thanks! I guess it's a mixture of influences! My brain is a big melting pot! I listen to Young & Free a lot, and I love the way they use contemporary EDM/Pop in their songs. I guess the song was kinda building in my head over a few mornings. I wake up with pieces of songs running through my head sometimes, and I had been doing some production for emerging artists, like pop-stuff, and wanted to go for a chill-electro kinda vibe. So I think that influenced me too. I was into Trap around the time I got saved, and I think that maybe influenced the drop for the chorus.

  • JFH (Michael): I know what my personal take away from "Break Through" was, but I'd love to hear thoughts on the song's meaning and origin.

    FKA Promise: Yeah, well, as the song was coming together, I felt a real "darkness to light" thing happening. So I could hear someone talking about being lost over the beat and the pads. I asked my friend and worship-leader if he would mind recording his testimony and I chopped it up like a sample and cut it into the song. I got into crypto earlier this year and "to the moon" is like a real prevalent phrase haha! But I love it and it seemed o fit, ya know; "from the mountain, to the moon." I heard a pastor talking about Psalm 113:3 and I was like "this needs to go in my chorus" so that's where I got the lyrics to the chorus from. I guess most of my songs reflect my journey somehow.

  • JFH (Michael): I really enjoyed the personal story you added to the song. Had your friend been trying to get you to go to church with him prior to this, or was it more of a spur of the moment thing?

    FKA Promise: Ah. So, that's actually my friend's friend! If that makes sense? It's not my testimony, it's my friend's! As far as I know his faith was building for a while. He was coming to church for a while and then kinda sank back into the life again but then came back and got saved. But that's how these things usually work, they say "relapse is part of recovery", and God's love will always win in the end.

  • JFH (Michael): When did this story take place? How long ago did you come to know Christ?

    FKA Promise: So, I think my friend's story is from about 4 years ago... my own story is I was saved 6 years ago. Mine is a similar story to the sample in the song. Although I was never bullied at school, I was on a bad path for a long time. I think my heart always knew what I was doing was wrong. I got involved with crime and drugs from quite a young age. And over the years, it all spiralled out of control. Drinking had become a real problem for me. Drugs, too. I was homeless a few times and was close to suicide when Jesus rescued me.

  • JFH (Michael): How would you say that "Break Through" builds from your 2020 release New Revival?

    FKA Promise: I think it's more electro and pad driven. I've learned a lot over the last year. I think I've gotten better at production. It's probably a little different stylistically, and my upcoming singles are probably more similar to the New Revival stuff.

  • JFH (Michael): What's next for FKA Promise? More singles? Another EP? Or are you just waiting to see where things go from here?

    FKA Promise: Yeah I've got 2 songs in the works that I will be releasing as singles over the next 6 months or so. "Always Near" is my take on a more Worship-type song. The other I don't have a title for yet, but that's more like the New Revival vibe! When they're out and released, I'll be dropping another EP featuring the 3 singles and 3 more songs, hopefully by Christmas or possible early 2022...

  • JFH (Michael): It's been a rough year or so, but you've still managed to put out four songs on your own. What has God been teaching you through this time?

    FKA Promise: Wow, I feel so so blessed. I mean, my day job has carried on and I've spent more time working from home, which has given me the chance to focus on my own music as well as supporting other emerging artists who are coming through right now. I'm just thankful that God has been my Rock throughout this. I think if I wasn't saved, I probably would've been fearful and scared of what has been going on around the world, but God has given me comfort and grace, and provision. I'm just so thankful. And prayerful, too, for the people who have suffered so much over the last year. I've had great support from my church, my worship team, my wife and my little boy. I'm very blessed and very thankful. And it's like King Jehoshaphat once said to God, "we don't know what to do, but our eyes are on You". We just need to keep Jesus as our focal point. He has overcome the world!

     

     

     

    go to main Indie review page
    go to Indie Review Index

     

  •            
    Listen to the new single by Jeremy Lopez!

    Search JFH




    This Friday, September 24, 2021
    Bethel Music Homecoming (Live) [Bethel]
    Mark Bishop Some Distant Mountain [Crossroads]
    Blest Testimonio - EP [Integrity]
    Marica Chisholm Higher - Single [DS2 Music Group]
    Stephen Christian King of Impossible - Single [BEC]
    Citizens The Joy Of Being Together [Integrity]
    Riley Clemmons For The Good - Single [Capitol CMG]
    for KING & COUNTRY For God Is With Us - Single [Curb/Word]
    Kirk Franklin Lean on Me (Worldwide Mix) [feat. The Compassion Youth Choir] - Single [RCA]
    Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Music Jonny x Mali: Live in LA (Stereo) - EP [Life Room Label]
    Leigh Nash The Tide, Vol. 1 - EP [Visionary]
    Kevin Quinn Fuego En Mi Interior - Single [Capitol CMG]
    Brian Reith Now Is Not Forever "Reimagined" EP (independent)
    River Valley AGES Honest - Single [BEC]
    Selah One Name - Single [Integrity]
    Jordan Smith Be Still & Know EP [Reunion/Provident]
    Switch Better View, Part I - EP [Essential Worship]
    Thrive Worship Let's Have Church EP [Integrity]
    Chris Tomlin Emmanuel: Christmas Songs Of Worship [Capitol CMG]
    Village Lights Promised Land - Single [Integrity]


    Next Wednesday, September 29, 2021
    Smalltown Poets NWxSE [Friendly City]


    Next Friday, October 1, 2021
    Caroline Cobb A King & His Kindness [Integrity]
    Jon Foreman Roll Tape: Live From Melody League Studios (independent)
    Gaither Vocal Band All Heaven & Nature Sing [Gaither]
    Brandon Heath Human Nature (Acoustic Version) - Single [Centricity]
    Mat Kearney January Flower (Deluxe Edition) [Tomorrow]
    MŌRIAH Trust - Single [Cathedral]
    Newsboys Stand [Capitol CMG]
    Relent Heavy [Rockfest]
    Anne Wilson My Jesus (Live from Nashville) EP (CD) [Capitol CMG]

    For all release dates, click here!
     



    Listen to the new single by Katie Lighty!




    Listen to the new album from KAINA!