Listen to the new album by Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks: 35 minutes, 36 seconds
Street Date: October 31, 2006

Newsboys is one of those supergroups that have always been associated with the youth group crowd. What few tend to realize as they grow out of that age group, however, is that the Newsboys have often made some fantastic music ("Lost The Plot," "Let It Go," "Lord (I Don't Know)," "Let It Rain," and "I Surrender All" are just a few that come to mind) that exceeds the boundaries of its original target audience. So this particular reviewer is thrilled that this pop/rock band has returned from their dual-worship album intermission to what they know best.

While billed as a new pop album from Newsboys, Go is not surprisingly a successful blend of anthems and worshipfully written pop tunes in the vein of such albums as Thrive and Step Up To the Microphone. And while some bands who attempt to branch out into new territory to survive trend changes tend to find their change to be a misstep, Newsboys have managed to craft a relevant and ultimately delectable collection of songs.

Evangelism is the overall theme of Go, from the hopelessly catchy opening anthem "Wherever We Go" and the call to ministry of the title track, to the aptly titled "The Mission," and the signature quirkiness of "Secret Kingdom." Worship is also central, with the powerful "In Wonder," Jon Egan cover "I Am Free," and the delightful ugly duckling of the record, "Your Love Is Better Than Life" (which includes Aussie-accented raps pondering life's great - and small - mysteries). Diversity keeps the record fresh and alive while it never feels like it's just the band going through the motions. Go is the kind of record we've come to expect from Newsboys and it proves they still have a few surprises up their sleeves after all these years.

Stylistically, Go is right in line with the Newsboys trademark sound. Electronic elements and synths support catchy rhythms and melodies to serve as the base for most of the album's tracks. "Wherever We Go" tries hard to be the next big hit from the band and succeeds in offering the sound that is required to earn such a hit. However, while "Shine" has the immortal chorus and "Breakfast" has that camp-bus-ride longevity, "Wherever We Go" may not have what it takes to transcend the years lyrically, as it focuses on the band's effect it has on the world around it. Although the quintet has been playing "I Am Free" live for well over a year, this is the first time a studio rendition of the song is being made available. And while the live radio version seemed overproduced at best, the studio version breathes life into the song, with Jeff Frankenstein accenting the melody with retro synths that surprisingly give it an added aesthetical pleasure. Most of the tracks are upbeat and at times fast-paced, while heart and warmth flows from such highlights as "The Letter" and the throwback feel of "Gonna Be Alright" to bring some added encouragement to listeners.

Go is a welcomed return for the Newsboys to what they've become known for since their humble beginnings almost two decades ago. Catchy, fun, worshipful, encouraging, and memorable, Go is liable to cause longtime fans to join me in saying, "Hallelujah, the Newsboys are back!"

- Review date: 10/27/06, written by John DiBiase

Get the new book by Tanner Olson!



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Inpop Records
. Album length: 11 tracks: 35 minutes, 36 seconds
. Street Date: October 31, 2006
. Buy It:

  1. Wherever We Go
  2. Go
  3. Something Beautiful
  4. The Mission
  5. Let It all Come Out
  6. In Wonder
  7. Your Love Is Better Than Life
  8. I Am Free
  9. Secret Kingdom
  10. The Letter
  11. Gonna Be Alright
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Get the new book by Tanner Olson!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 18, 2020
7eventh Time Down Questions - Single [BEC]
A Jesus Church Take Your Throne [BEC Worship]
Austin & Lindsey Adamec Can't Deny It - Single [Integrity]
Apollo LTD Better - Single [Centricity]
Cross Point Music Never Stop Singing - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Love Letter Kill Shot (Deluxe) [Tooth & Nail]
Fit for a King The Path [Solid State]
Austin French Wake Up Sleeper EP [Fair Trade]
Jordan Feliz Wounds - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray Right On Time - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne I AM [Provident]
Hulvey Otherside - Single [Reach]
Kari Jobe First Love (Live) EP [Capitol CMG]
Tasha Layton Into the Sea EP [BEC]
Ashlyn Levoy Something Better - Single [Centricity]
Local Sound Won't Let Go - Single [Running Club/Integrity]
Dr. James Mable Jr. The Journey 2.0 [eOne]
Evvie McKinney Look No Further - Single [Motown Gospel]
Chris Renzema Mercy - Single [Centricity]
REVERE REVERE (Live) [Integrity]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lamb - EP [RockFest]
SongLab My Favorite (Live From South Eden) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, September 25, 2020
Landry Cantrell Glasshouse [DREAM]
Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new children's album from The Block Worship!

Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!