Listen to the Album from Jason Upton!
Listen to the New Album From Jason Upton!

JFH Staff Review

Hawk Nelson
Hawk Nelson Is My Friend

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 37 minutes, 26 seconds
Street Date: April 1, 2008

It was difficult not to be immediately skeptical upon hearing the title of Hawk Nelson's newest album, Hawk Nelson is My Friend. While a tribute to their fans and to their most popular selling shirt to date, the title doesn't make me want to buy the album. In fact, it's a total turn-off. Why? Although a bit uncertain, it's probably because I expected more maturity on their third album. Not that a title makes an album, but would someone who's never listened to Hawk give this record a second glance? I doubt it. This in itself is really unfortunate because after actually hearing the album, it's tough not to say that Hawk Nelson is My Friend is some of their best work to date.

The opener, "You Have What I Need," is harder and louder than pretty much anything the guys have ever done before. The song is edgy, poppy, exciting, and fun to listen to all at the same time. It's a great opener and it really sets the tone for what proves to be a wild ride of an album.

What follows is one of the catchiest collections of songs that I've ever heard. For Hawk Nelson, it doesn't matter if the song is hard, soft, fast, slow - it's all catchy. You'll seriously have "One Little Miracle" in your head all day and you won't mind. In fact, don't be surprised if somebody tells you to stop singing so they can talk to you for a minute.

But it took a few listens to get to this point. Maybe it was still the title being a turn off, but I wasn't overly excited after listening to the album for the first time. Everything seemed so familiar: the music was simple, the melodies were catchy, and the lyrics really spoke to me, especially on some of the slower tracks. Then I realized that all of this was what I loved so much about Hawk Nelson. And then the album rocked.

Despite the title, Hawk Nelson really does bring the maturity with Hawk Nelson is My Friend. Songs like "Arms Around Me" really make you stop and think about just how much love God really has for all of us. Lead singer Jason Dunn cries, "Wrap your arms around me I know, trying hard not to let go. Every time I stand up I fall without you. When You wrap Your arms around me I know, with me wherever I go. Nothing else matters at all when You're here." And what's so great about Dunn's words is that they speak so true. While some of Hawk's songs are lighthearted and all of them are fun, they contain messages that many of us so often need to hear.

The album ends on another truth in life; death. "I Still Miss You" is a great way to end the album because it has Dunn crying out for strength from God. If there's anything that Christians need to be reminded of, it's that they can't do anything on their own. And we don't have to.

- PReview date: 3/18/08; Review date: 3/30/08, written by Flip Choquette

Check out the new single from Crystal Rome!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

Hawk Nelson Is My Friend is a lot more of the same of what fans have come to love about the Canadian pop/punk band. While the record takes the best of their first two installments and lumps it into one strong package, a lot of the record carries a great familiarity to it. Songs like "Turn It On" deviate a bit before its ridiculously catchy chorus is pretty much paint-by-number pop/punk. But songs like "Not The Same" smartly introduces a bit more of an 80's pop rock flavor without being cheesy and over-the-top (like some of Stellar Kart's recent material). "Arms Around Me" could be mistaken stylistically as a sequel to "Everything You Ever Wanted," but exceeds its predecessor with much more poignant lyrics. And it's songs like this one that return the band to more of the spiritual heart the debut so infectiously possessed. If fans were disappointed by the last album, they should feel a bit more compensated by this one. It may not break ground or reinvent what you know about the band, but it's pretty hard not to like.
- John DiBiase of



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Tooth & Nail Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 37 minutes, 26 seconds
. Street Date: April 1, 2008
. Buy It: (Regular Edition)
. Buy It: (Special CD/DVD Edition)

  1. You Have What I Need (2:33)
  2. Friend Like That (2:49)
  3. Turn It On (3:08)
  4. One Little Miracle (2:58)
  5. Let's Dance (3:09)
  6. Ancient History (3:11)
  7. Somebody Else (3:18)
  8. Arms Around Me (3:30)
  9. Just Like Me (2:38)
  10. Not The Same (3:29)
  11. Words We Speak (2:52)
  12. I Still Miss You (3:51)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new single from Crystal Rome!

Search JFH

This Friday, May 29, 2020
Bethel Music Revival's in the Air [Bethel]
Bonray Where I Wanna Be - Single [DREAM]
Latice Crawford Something Something - Single [eOne Nashville]
Deathbreaker Isolate (Digital) [Facedown]
Fit for a King Backbreaker (with We Came as Romans) - Single [Solid State]
Lydia Laird Hallelujah Even Here - Single [Provident]
Mandisa You Keep Hope Alive (ft. Jon Reddick) - Single [Sparrow / Capitol CMG]
Evvie McKinney Bring The Whole Hood - Single [Motown Gospel / Capitol CMG]
Nashville Life Music Sing A Song (Part 2) [feat. Aaron Cole] - Single [Integrity]
North Point Worship Hallelujah (Why We Sing) / O What A Miracle - Double Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Heart First - Single [Curb/Word]
Switchfoot Swim Good - Single [Lowercase People]
Cade Thompson Provider: Dirty Rice Remix - Single [Red Street]
We The Kingdom God So Loved - Single [Sparrow / Capitol CMG]

Next Friday, June 5, 2020
Jonny Diaz Your Love Feels Like Home - Single [Centricity]
Emery White Line Fever [Bad Christian]
Marty Marty For President 2 [Capitol CMG]
Ryan Stevenson Wildest Dreams [Gotee]
Mark Tedder untitled EP [7Core]
Switchfoot (TBA cover song)- Single [Lowercase People]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the new album from Dawson Samuel & J Taylor!

Listen to the new album from Crystal Rome!