Listen to the new album from May Angeles!
Listen to the new album from May Angeles!

JFH Staff Review




Casting Crowns
Live From Atlanta



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 6 tracks: CD/DVD
Street Date: September 14, 2004


Atlanta-based group Casting Crowns, consisting of Mark Hall, Juan Devevo, Melodee Devevo, Hector Cervantes, Andy Williams, Christ Huffman, and Megan Garrett, is a relatively new band in the Christian music industry, and the largest in personnel size since Caedmon's Call. As the first act to sign with Beach Street Records, Casting Crowns released their debut self-titled album on September 30, 2003 to a sea of unassuming faces. The heart of the band, Mark Hall, is an astonishing character that has a testimony like no other. When listening to music, the listener can go beyond the sound and also take into account the meaning of the lyrics, the vision of the band, etc. Casting Crowns goes past the level of other contemporary rock bands because of their blunt and serious lyrics, but they can also face some criticism said about their work.

Casting Crowns' first live project, Live from Atlanta, was recorded on October 5, 2003 at the band's home church while commemorating the release of the debut self-titled album. The 2-disc CD/DVD consists of five audio songs performed live from their debut record and also a song not previously heard of, a six-song DVD, and behind-the-scenes interviews.

The six-song audio CD begins live with the group's number one hit "If We Are the Body". Of course, live music always sounds unlike that of the recorded version, but Casting Crowns seems to hold onto the song and leads amazing worship, much like a lot of other bands in their genre. About three minutes into the song Mark Hall has the crowd sing along, which adds a slight change. The CD continues with "Who Am I" and "Voice of Truth", two much slower, piano-based songs. "Voice of Truth" is one of Casting Crown's songs that sounds appreciably different live. Later you find "Here I Go Again" and "American Dream". If not musically inclined as some people put it, these two songs consist of strong and personable lyrics that are worthy of mention. Lyrics like, "I'll take a shack on a rock over a castle in the sand" prove this. The audio portion of the project ends with "Beautiful Savior" which was previously unreleased. It is, alike the other songs, a slower worshipful melody with a catchy tune. Personally, my appreciation for Casting Crowns has grown after witnessing them live.

Although they sound like many other Christian worship bands out there, I would still highly suggest this album to fans of Steven Curtis Chapman, Big Daddy Weave, Warren Barfield, Daily Planet, MercyMe, FFH, Caedmon's Call, or modern worship in general. Look past the fact that their sound isn't exactly the most original and focus on the lyrics, heart, and ministry of Casting Crowns.

- Review date: 9/27/04, written by Jessica Vander Loop


Listen to the new album from People & Songs

 

CD

Buy This CD Online


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Beach Street Records
. Album length: 6 tracks: CD/DVD
. Street Date: September 14, 2004
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. If We Are The Body
  2. Who Am I
  3. Voice Of Truth
  4. Here I Go Again
  5. American Dream
  6. Beautiful Savior (Bonus Track)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the new album from People & Songs

Search JFH




This Friday, July 23, 2021
Anberlin As You Found Me (Livestream) (independent)
Jonathan Cain Oh Lord Lead Us - Single [Identity/Fuel]
Canyon Hills Worship Something About The Name - Single [DREAM]
Colony House Automatic (feat. Fleurie) - Single [Roon]
Cross Point Music Never Going Back [Centricity]
Christine DíClario All That Remains - Single [Capitol CMG]
Dreamers Land Of The Living - Single [DREAM]
Jason Dunn Billy Enforcee - Single (independent)
Equippers Worship Unified In Praise // All Glory (Live) - Single [DREAM]
Travis Greene Oil & Water (feat. Anthony Hamilton) - Single [Provident]
JUDAH. & J. Monty Irresponsible - Single [Capitol CMG]
Lonesome River Band Singing Up There: A Tribute to the Easter Brothers [Mountain Home Music]
Steven Malcolm All Is True - EP [4 Against 5 / Curb | Word]
Chris McClarney Speak To The Mountains EP [Capitol CMG]
Newsboys I Still Believe You're Good - Single [Capitol CMG]
Bryan Popin So Good 2 Me - Single (feat. Steven J. Collins) - Single [Little Boy Wonder]
Bryan Popin So Good 2 Me (LBWM Remix) - Single [feat. Steven J. Collins] - Single [Little Boy Wonder]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell (Reanimation) - EP [Capitol CMG]
Phil Thompson Lion of Judah [Integrity]
Carrie Underwood My Savior: LIVE From The Ryman DVD [UMG]
Village Lights Here is Our Hallelujah (feat. Sarah Kroger, Ike Ndolo & Ricky Vazquez) - Single [Integrity]


Next Thursday, July 29, 2021
Panther City Riots Say It Like You Mean It - Single (independent)


Next Friday, July 30, 2021
Coby James Mixtape Side B EP [Centricity]
Jonah 33 Bullet From A Gun - Single [Boleyn]
Vince Lichlyter Things I Need To Say - Single [Boleyn]
Make Sure Japanese Bonus Track - Single [Tooth & Nail]
NEEDTOBREATHE Into the Mystery [Centricity/Elektra]
Dottie Rambo Itís The Soul of Me (1968 Digital Reissue) [Provident/Sony]
Reba Rambo Reba Rambo (Digital Reissue) [eOne]
SongLab Simplicity (Live) - EP [DREAM]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new album from Wade McNutt!




Listen to the new album from Jaime Masetta!