Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!
Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!

  Jesusfreakhideout.com 5-Star Review

  JFH 5-Star Review




All Star United
Love and Radiation



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks: 37 minutes, 17 seconds
Street Date: May 29, 2007


After releasing his solo project Save the Humans in late 2004, Ian Eskelin returned to All Star United to record Love and Radiation, which continues where Revolution left off. The band is finally releasing the album in the States after a long wait since its UK street date, and American fans will not be disappointed in the least.

Picking up from 2002's Revolution, All Star United hasn't changed their sound much over the past four years; they've merely perfected it. Just like Revolution, Love and Radiation has a more mature sound than the band's early work, as is evident on the harmonious "We Could Be Brilliant." The biggest difference from their old sound is the flow of the album. All Star United's first two albums were very eclectic and at times disjointed. Now, the album has more of a theme; the songs flow beautifully from one to the next and nothing seems to be missing.

In the past, the band has also usually tipped the scale toward having fun, while throwing in a handful of truly memorable songs. This time, the fun is still clearly present ("Let's Rock Tonight," "You You You"), but it's intermixed with some of the best stuff ASU has ever recorded ("Love & Radiation," "Jesus on the Radio," and plenty more). The band's trademark sarcasm is also here, most notably on "Song of the Year" ("Holy, holy, worthy, worthy, something, something, something, something / that rhymes with Jesus' name / that oughta do / guess I'm through / time to canonize").

Many tracks contain some of Eskelin's most heartfelt lyrics to date (and that's quite a statement). "We Could Be Brilliant" cries, "Down here everything is broken / and we smile like everything is fine / let go the blows that break us open / it's only when we're shattered we can shine." Worshipful songs such as "Take Me Away" and "Like Hallelujah" are on the same level as some of the band's classic ballads like "Thank You, Goodnight" and "Saviour of My Universe."

There isn't a weak spot to be found on Love and Radiation, but definitely plenty to rave about. Fans who haven't heard Revolution may be surprised at the band's maturity, but it gives their music a broader appeal and ultimately a more polished sound. From the catchy guitar riffs that dominate the first few tracks, to the fun energy in the middle, to the masterful ending, All Star United has come up with their best work to date, and what easily deserves to be recognized as a contender for album of the year.

- Review date: 5/27/07; PReviewed: 3/28/07, written by Spencer Priest



(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new album from Rev Music!

class="coversize" align=right>
After releasing his solo project Save the Humans in late 2004, Ian Eskelin returned to All Star United to record Love and Radiation, which continues where Revolution left off. And after a long wait since its UK street date, the band is finally releasing the album in the States. Plenty of the band's trademark sarcasm is included in "Song of the Year" ("Holy, holy, worthy, worthy, something, something, something, something / that rhymes with Jesus' name / that oughta do / guess I'm through / time to canonize"). But what should impress listeners the most is the maturity and harmony of tracks like "We Could Be Brilliant." In the past, the band has usually tipped the scale toward having fun, while throwing in a handful of truly memorable songs. This time, the fun is still clearly present ("Let's Rock Tonight," "You You You"), but it's intermixed with some of the best stuff ASU has ever released ("Love & Radiation," "Jesus on the Radio," and plenty more). You won't want to download one or two songs from Love and Radiation; there are plenty of reasons to go out and buy one of the best albums so far this year…

- PReview date: 3/28/07, written by Spencer Priest -->

 

CD

Buy This CD Online


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Furious? Records (UK) / 7 Spin Music (US)
. Album length: 11 tracks: 37 minutes, 17 seconds
. Street Date: 2006 (UK release) / May 29, 2007 (US release)
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. Love And Radiation
  2. You You You (Yeah Yeah Yeah)
  3. Before You Break My Heart
  4. We Could Be Brilliant
  5. Let's Rock Tonight
  6. Jesus On The Radio
  7. There's Gotta Be Something
  8. The Song Of The Year
  9. In A World Where Nothing's
    Wrong (You're Alright)
  10. Like Hallelujah
  11. Take Me A Way
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

              
Check out the new album from Rev Music!

Search JFH




This Thursday, May 26, 2022
SINGLES
ICF Sunday Night Perfect Love - Single [Integrity]


This Friday, May 27, 2022
ALBUMS
ICF Worship Here's To The One We Love [Integrity]
Mission House Live From Raleigh [Integrity]
TAYA TAYA [Capitol CMG]

SINGLES
Ian Yates God You’ve Never Failed Me - Single [7 Core]


Next Tuesday, May 31, 2022
ALBUMS
Stryper Reborn [Gold Disc Edition] CD [Girder]
Stryper Murder By Pride [Gold Disc Edition] CD [Girder]
Stryper The Covering [Gold Disc Edition] CD [Girder]


Next Friday, June 3, 2022
ALBUMS
The Belonging Co. Now (independent)
Cheri Keaggy What I Know To Be True (independent)

SINGLES
MAJOR. Whole World In His Hands - Single [MNRK]

For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the New EP by Iryne Rock!




Sign up for a JFH Indie Review