Listen to the new album from Ian Yates!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

Paul Wright
The Paul Wright EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 8 tracks: 27 minutes, 20 seconds
Street Date: September 16, 2003

EP's often make excellent teasers, appetizers, and side dishes. For artists like Relient K, they're tasty snacks but for artists like Paul Wright, they're teasers. And thanks to Gotee Records, you don't have to wait till December 2nd to discover this promising new artist.

His national debut release The Paul Wright EP isn't his first appearance on the CCM scene. Earlier this month, Paul Wright offered his rhyme skills on the impressive !Hero project as he filled the shoes of a narrative role for the album. While his songs on !Hero possessed more of a straight-up hip-hop/rap feel that at times was reminiscent of Eminem, his solo work is a lot different and, in a way, a lot more interesting.

The standout track is the single "Your Love Never Changes." His accessible hip-hop flavored acoustic pop/rock is more like a stripped down John Reuben or a watered down TobyMac. That's not a bad thing at all, in fact, it makes for an almost completely different vibe. "Brighter" is a funky and jazzy track about God's love making life easier as we give our burdens over to him. "Hey, Mr. DJ Man" offers a tasty beat and features Ohmega Watts on this reggae flavored track. "Microphone Check" is a nonsense fun and funky tune that showcases Wright's rapping abilities a little more strongly than in previous tracks. Wright's styles are diverse and his vocals versatile. Like labelmate Reuben, it's nice to hear such versatility that the artist can stretch in such different directions and pull it off in each attempt. With that, "South Beach" takes another turn as the music shifts more into a pop/rock tune with hip-hop flavor a la dc Talk. "Wonderful Creator" is almost entirely just Wright and his guitar as he changes gears stylistically once more for an acoustic worship song that is unlike anything else on this EP. Finally, the record closes with Gotee's president TobyMac introducing some clips of other tracks to be heard on Paul Wright's December 2nd full-length debut record Fly Away. Stick around after the end for a hilarious hidden track.

The Paul Wright EP may appear brief to some, but Wright doesn't cheapen his listeners here. While many EP's would only offer a couple tracks to tide the fans over, The Wright EP is just the wright amount of music to whet our appetites for the full helping this December.

- Review date: 9/16/03, written by John DiBiase



Buy This CD Online

. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Gotee Records
. Album length: 8 tracks, 27 minutes and 20 seconds
. Street Date: September 16, 2003
. Buy It:

  1. Mrs. Legard
  2. Your Love Never Changes
  3. Brighter
  4. Hey, Mr. DJ Man (Featuring Ohmega Watts)
  5. Microphone Check (Acoustic Version)
  6. South Beach
  7. Wonderful Creator
  8. Fly Away Album Mix
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


World Premiere Video
(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, April 18
Local Sound The Free World, Vol. 1 - EP [Integrity]

This Friday, April 19
29:11 Worship Roses - Single [DREAM]
Apollo LTD On The Way Up 2.0 - Single [Centricity]
Amanda Lindsey Cook Still - Single [Bethel]
Tori Harper Revival - Single [The Fuel]
Influencers Father's Love - Single (independent)
Leigh Nash Kiss Me (20th Anniversary Edition) / God Gave Me Horses - Single (independent)
Dave Pettigrew Faith & Gasoline (independent)
Bryan Popin All Back - Single [United Alliance]
Trinity Anthem of Love - Single [The Fuel]
JJ Weeks Choices - Single [Radiate]
Phil Wickham & Chris Quilala You Cannot Be Stopped - Single [Sparrow]

Next Friday, April 26
Jared Anderson Keep Your Eyes on Jesus - Single (independent)
For All Seasons Just For Today - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray I'm Gonna Let It Go - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong UNITED People [Hillsong]
Mallary Hope Out of My Hands [Word/Curb]
Sarah Kroger Bloom [Integrity]
Starflyer 59 Young In My Head [Tooth & Nail]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Illijam!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads