Get Your Music on Amazon!
Get Your Music on Amazon!

JFH Music Review

Tenth Avenue North, The Light Meets The Dark

Tenth Avenue North
The Light Meets The Dark

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks: 45 minutes, 17 seconds
Street Date: May 11, 2010

The Light Meets the Dark, Tenth Avenue North's much-anticipated sophomore offering, comes on the heels of their recent Dove Award for Best Song, "By Your Side" from their debut album Over and Underneath (2008). This Dove Award is their second, after the band won the award for New Artist of the Year at 2009's ceremony. It's safe to say there is a lot of buzz around Tenth Avenue North these days, but do they avoid the "sophomore slump" that plagues highly popular bands?

Answer: a tentative yes. The Light Meets the Dark has a refreshing cohesiveness about it, with an obvious theme and focus. The album is all about brokenness, the universality of that brokenness, and how Jesus meets individuals in their brokenness and overcomes it.

The album starts off with its first single, "Healing Begins," a song that encourages listeners to let down the walls hiding their brokenness to let healing start. The chorus features Keane-like mellow rock vocals before amping it up later in the song. "Strong Enough to Save" continues the focus on humanity's weakness and going to God with our pain.

"You are More" starts out with a bell-like guitar melody, following a girl who mistakenly believes she has "fallen too far to love." The chorus assures listeners that "you are more than the choices that you've made, you are more than the sum of your past mistakes, you are more than the problems you create, you've been remade." This message says it's not about us, but rather what God has done for us.

"The Truth is Who You Are" is another soft-rock offering, talking about how following Christ can be difficult but is ultimately worth it. Once the band gets to the repeat of the chorus, they push up the volume a notch, a good thing when the listeners have been listening to so many similar sounding songs. The next song, "All the Pretty Things," highlights the tensions of being "caught in the in-between of who we are and who we're to be" and other struggles of the Christian faith. It's easy to get distracted from eternity and start "fighting for what we already have." This song has a fun guitar riff and background vocals chiming, with more energy and intensity than previous offerings.

"Any Other Way" is another song about brokenness and identity. A nice comparison is drawn between Jesus touching our scars, and us touching His. This leads into "On and On," a piano-driven ballad about the back and forth nature of humanity, running from God and then seeking him again. Another type of comparison marks "Hearts Safe:" two individuals who come from the same place, yet one doesn't know Christ. The wailing chorus repeats "Why?" over and over.

The most powerful songs are the final offerings. "House of Mirrors" revolves around the image of us being caught up in our own lives, unable to see past ourselves because of the house of mirrors we live in. The song urges us to throw our mirrors down, so we can see Christ already set us free. The tune is bouncy and catchy, easy to sing along with. Another standout is "Empty My Hands," the song that seems the most personal. It speaks of fearing to let go of dreams. It questions, with quiet intensity, if life will be gained by letting go. The voice of the lead singer, Mike Donehey, is hopeful and understated with the song striking the right chord in the desire for clarity.

The album ends with "Oh My Dear," a story song that takes listeners through a pivotal moment in a relationship, with one person telling another a painful secret, though she fears rejection because of her secret actions. The chorus reassures that love will only increase with honesty, and regardless, "I'll keep you in my arms tonight."

All in all, The Light Meets the Dark is a good cohesive album. The tentative part of my recommendation comes with the lack of variety found throughout the album. It is a soft rock album with little else. The song structure rarely changes, and thus nothing about this album is really groundbreaking. Yet it has a beautiful message urging Christians to be honest about their own brokenness, and in a world of false strength, it is a message to be heard.

- Review date: 5/9/10, written by Sara Kelm of

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Purchase Original Art Prints, Drawings, Buttons, Stickers, Bookmarks and more from JFH's own John DiBiase!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

Tenth Avenue North's debut, Over and Underneath, caught the attention of Christian radio fans all over the United States, becoming one of the top pop/contemporary artists in the last few years, and winning the Dove Award for Song of the Year last month for "By Your Side." May of 2010 will see the band's follow up, The Light Meets The Dark. Fans will be pleased to hear that not much has changed in TAN's overall sound, giving the listener more of their Switchfoot-esque pop rock songs while also having some worshipful moments. "All The Pretty Things" is teeming with positivity, focusing on the beauty to be found in the world, while having a very catchy melody driving its chorus. The opener "Healing Begins" is a good first track, and one that follows in the footsteps of "By Your Side," instantly showing that it's aiming for radio airplay. Expect to hear both of these new songs on Air1 at some point within the next year. Despite not being able to escape the "radio band" label, TAN does display some quality songwriting here and there. The Light Meets The Dark isn't a super impressive album, but it definitely outshines most other radio bands' albums. - Scott Fryberger


. Record Label: Reunion Records
. Album length: 11 tracks: 45 minutes, 17 seconds
. Street Date: May 11, 2010
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It:

  1. Healing Begins (3:57)
  2. Strong Enough To Save (3:13)
  3. You Are More (3:37)
  4. The Truth Is Who You Are (4:26)
  5. All The Pretty Things (4:20)
  6. Any Other Way (3:27)
  7. On And On (3:42)
  8. Hearts Safe (A Better Way) (3:32)
  9. House Of Mirrors (4:30)
  10. Empty My Hands (5:01)
  11. Oh My Dear (5:35)
spacer     Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Purchase Original Art Prints, Drawings, Buttons, Stickers, Bookmarks and more from JFH's own John DiBiase!

Search JFH

This Friday, June 21, 2024
Vineyard Kids Time to Fly [Integrity]

Leigh Nash Unraveling - Single [Visionary]
MC Tempo Rude Boy Style - Single [Remaker Records]
One Pursuit MSC Wanted (Live) - Single (independent)

Next Friday, June 28, 2024
Brotality It Feeds - EP (independent)
Brandon Heath Can We Go Home Now - EP [Centricity]
My Epic Loriella [Tooth & Nail]
Lacey Sturm Kenotic Metanoia: Deluxe Edition [Followspot/The Fuel]

Sleeping At Last Bloom (Eros) - Single (independent)
Brandon Lake x Phil Wickham House of God - Single [Provident]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new EP from Saved By Skarlet!

Listen to the new Album From Millennial Reign!

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images