Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!
Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!

JFH Staff Review


Family Force 5, Chainsaw EP
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE

Family Force 5
Chainsaw EP



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 2 tracks: 6 minutes, 29 seconds
Street Date: December 21, 2012


At first glance, this EP doesn't seem worth buying becuase it's only 2 songs and just a little over 6 minutes long, but any Family Force 5 wouldn't want to go without getting the Chainsaw EP.

Both songs were limited time free downloads from Soul Glow's radio show called PHENOMENON on NGEN Radio. The song "Phenomenon" has some great lyrics like "Hands up in the sky, don't care why. You feel like you could fly, we are phenomenon" and "I'll show you love if you show me love." However, it's not the kind of song you could play over and over because it can get annoying and it kind of reminds me of something you would hear on the Disney Channel after listening to it for a while.

The song "Crank It Like A Chainsaw" has a great rap/dance sound and features all three brothers, Soul Glow, Couton, and Fatty, singing/rapping in the song. "Crank It Like A Chainsaw" has a very catchy beat and the song is, like Soul Glow put it, about a chainsaw with lyrics like "Fresh flannel shirt, country bumpkin, lumberjackin your moves, a.k.a. Paul Bunyan."

All together, this is a fairly decent EP, however there's not many references to God, like their songs "Superhero" and "Not Alone." But like I said before, this would be a great addition to any FF5 fan's collection.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 12/26/12, written by Thomas A-Mar Salyer for Jesusfreakhideout.com


Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

 

JFH Staff's Additional 2 Cents


With Solomon "Soul Glow Activatur" Olds' new radio program on NGEN Radio has come two new Family Force 5 tunes - "Phenomenon" and "Crank It Like A Chainsaw." I first heard the former on NGEN's website as a free download to commemorate the release of the show, and the latter on their Christmas tour earlier this month. The title track is a really fun party jam that's about as silly and benign as "Ghostride the Whip" but even more catchy, while the dancy "Phenomenon" feels more like a b-side than a single. Still, both tracks are fun party tunes that forsake the edgier themes on III and feel more in line with what we'd expect from the Atlanta five. It's a bit silly to make the hard copy EP exclusive via a merch bundle on their website (a little trick learned from the Switchfoot gang perhaps?), but I wouldn't be surprised if these songs made their way to a wider-released EP in the near future... - 12/28/12, John DiBiase of Jesusfreakhideout.com

 

 

. Record Label: Transparent
. Album length: 2 tracks: 6 minutes, 29 seconds
. Street Date: December 21, 2012
. Buy It: Family Force 5's Online Store

  1. Crank It Like A Chainsaw
  2. Phenomenon

 

 

Leave a Comment

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH



This Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Heath McNease Notes, Volume 1 - EP (independent)


This Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Andy Mineo Always in a Rush (ft. Mez) - Single [Reach]
Anthony Sallee and Phil Keaggy Blackbird - Single (independent)


This Friday, October 30, 2020
1K Phew Already / Gas You Up - Single [Reach]
Audrey Assad Mortal (Live) - Single (independent)
Mack Brock Your Presence Is A Promise - Single [Capitol CMG]
The Dailys (Jillian Edwards & Ellie Holcomb) Falling Apart - Single [Tone Tree]
DOE DOE - EP [RCA Inspiration]
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound Wake Up - Single [StowTown]
for KING & COUNTRY A Drummer Boy Christmas [Curb/Word]
Koryn Hawthorne & Essential Worship The Song Sessions EP [Essential]
Hillsong Worship Take Heart (Again) [Capitol CMG]
Caitie Hurst At All Times - EP [Centricity]
JAG The Longest Road (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG The Only World In Town (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG Fire In the Temple (Remastered) [Girder]
Coby James Homesick - EP [Centricity]
JUDAH. Don't Know If I Believe It (feat. Jon Foreman) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Kings Kaleidoscope Power Perfect EP [Rainbow Records]
The Kingsmen The Wind and Waves Still Know - Single [Horizon]
Tori Kelly Tori Kelly Christmas [Capitol CMG]
LO Worship Compass - Single [LO Records]
My Epic Lower Still (feat. Levi The Poet) - Single [Facedown]
Passion Hope Has A Name [Capitol CMG]
Resistance Resistance EP [Integrity]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell [Capitol]
Tenth Avenue North Unplugged For The People (The Acoustic Greatest Hits) [Provident]
True Strength The Mighty Hand of Yahweh [Roxx]
We The Kingdom Light Of The World (Hallelujah) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Tauren Wells Famous For (I Believe) [Sunday A.M. Version] - Single [Provident]
Matthew West Live Before the World Shut Down - EP [Story House]


Next Monday, November 2, 2020
Manic Drive (Vol.1) EP (independent)


Next Friday, November 6, 2020
Cross Point Music Jesus Is King - Single [Centricity]
Open Heaven Triumph [DREAM]
Planetshakers Over It All [Ventur3Media]
Selah Step Into My Story [3Cre8tive]
Joel Vaughn Louder Than The Lies [DREAM]
Vineyard Worship You Speak [Vineyard]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new single from Anthony Sallee!


  • Image Mulan
    PG-13 (Digital HD)


Enter to win the Lord of the Rings Trilogy 4K SteelBook!