Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!
Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!

JFH Music Review

Stellar Kart
Everything Is Different Now

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 35 minutes, 6 seconds
Street Date: November, 2009 (independent); March 9, 2010

Things are different for Stellar Kart. Not only is Stellar Kart's fourth studio album, Everything Is Different Now, their first release on INO records (this after three projects with Word), but their personnel has undergone some change as well. Founding guitarist Cody Pellerin parted ways with the band allowing former Dizmas guitarist Jon Howard to join the ranks of the group.

As usual, Stellar Kart doesn't bring a cutting-edge punk/pop rock sound to Everything is Different Now. However, the album doesn't necessarily shoot for that since the group has taken the punk factor entirely out of the project, and showcases a more worship-driven pop rock sound. The first song on the album, "All My Heart," displays both changes well since it's essentially a worship song with a very upbeat tune. One of the better songs on the album is the title track, but it doesn't have the charm of former Stellar Kart Highlights ("Me And Jesus" or "Jesus Loves You"). The next track is "It's Not Over," an acoustic guitar-driven pop song without much appeal. Although things get more exciting with "Rescue," the up-tempo rock song is very uninspiring and doesn't warrant very many listens. The album ends fairly solidly with "Like The Sun," but the ballad is too uneventful to be considered even remotely epic.

The other half of Everything Is Different Now is covers which Stellar Kart pulls off with mixed success. The single, "We Shine," is the title track from Fee's debut album. The band has added extra enthusiasm to the anthem thanks to exaggerated electric guitars, but the track will strike non-Stellar Kart fans as lame. However, the band drastically erred when covering Norman Greenbaum's oldie "Spirit in the Sky," as not even a modern version could save the truly cheesy, insipid track. Thankfully, the band does bounce back with their version of "Only One." Although the quartet refines the music some, Stellar Kart extracts Yellowcard's raw punk influence and leaves it a bit dry. Those who didn't mind hearing Matt Redman's "You Never Let Go" on the radio a hundred times will get another chance to hear Stellar Karts very similar rendition of the worship song over again. Stellar Kart's cover of "Until My Heart Caves In" maintains Audio Adrenaline's raw rock sound to an acceptable degree.

With the slight exception of Expect The Impossible, Stellar Kart has never been known for their poignant songwriting. So instead of uttering endless pop clichés and rehashing worn out party anthems (all with some positive, spiritual underline), Everything Is Different Now's formula is to spin out overused praise and worship clichés. Setting aside the covers (including the theologically pathetic "Spirit In The Sky") the band's originals lack true originality. While lyrics like "Jesus you're my Savior/there is no one else like you/you have all my heart/all my heart/I will sing forever/I am so in love with you/you have all my heart" and "It's beautiful/How you surround me/Pull me in/And don't let go" and "I'll be there to pick you up/Anytime you call/Tomorrow's on it's way" aren't wrong, they are certainly not a draw for the album ("All My Heart," "Everything Is Different Now," and "Like The Sun" respectively).

I've always thought that Stellar Kart has needed to make changes, both musically and lyrically, to make themselves a more stand-out band. However, while changes have been implemented with their latest release, I can't help but wonder if the album has set them back. Undoubtedly, Stellar Kart fans will fall in love with Everything Is Different Now, but, as a whole, I couldn't wait to stop listening to Stellar Kart's overproduced, underwhelming album. Maybe I'm just cynical. Or maybe this is just Stellar Kart's fourth half-hearted album in five years which fails to show both musical and lyrical maturity.

- Review date: 3/3/10, written by Nathaniel Schexnayder of

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

After the release of Life Is Good (a premature greatest hits album) about half a year ago, Stellar Kart has signed with a new label and taken a slightly different road musically. Perhaps these changes are why this, their fourth studio album, is titled Everything Is Different Now. This time around, fans of the pop/punk band will get a little more worship, a little less pop punk, and a handful of cover tracks. The album begins with "All My Heart," a track with a stronger worship feel than you would expect to hear from SK. The song comes out very well with the mix of piano keys and moving lyrics about loving Jesus with everything that you have. Both the title track and "Rescue" follow the same vibe and also come out rather nicely. For the most part, the rest of the album is comprised of remakes of some of the band's favorite tracks by other artists. SK covers some great songs and does some of them justice, while a couple should have been left alone because they were so wonderfully done by the original band. All in all, this isn't a bad place to begin with the new label, and your standard Stellar Kart fans are sure to enjoy. So if you weren't able to grab Everything Is Different Now while SK was touring last year, then it may be a decent addition to your music collection. However, if you happen to miss out on grabbing this one, you won't be lost without it. - Kevin Hoskins of


. Record Label: INO Records
. Album length: 10 tracks: 35 minutes, 6 seconds
. Street Date: November, 2009 (indie); March 9, 2010 (stores)
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It:

  1. All My Heart (3:17)
  2. We Shine (3:54)
  3. Something Holy (2:59)
  4. Spirit In The Sky (2:45)
  5. Everything Is Different Now (4:03)
  6. It's Not Over (3:30)
  7. Rescue (3:05)
  8. You Never Let Go (4:02)
  9. Until My Heart Caves In (3:09)
  10. Like The Sun (4:29)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!

Search JFH

This Tuesday, April 9, 2024
KJ-52 Down in the River (feat. Presence Music Band) - Single (independent)

This Friday, April 12, 2024
Andy Hunter Presence, Volume 7 (independent)
The Blamed Twenty21 [The Charon Collective]
Ellie Holcomb All of My Days [Capitol CMG]
Legacy Five 25 [StowTown]
Make Sure June [Tooth & Nail]
New Life Worship God Is [Integrity]
REVERE Unscripted: Live from Stockholm [Integrity]
Various Artists Presents: Rock, Paper, Scissors, METAL. Vol. 3 [JFH Music]

AOH Music Abba Father - Single (independent)
Bodie Gratitude - Single [Provident]
Brotality Black Abandon - Single (independent)
Convictions Four Horses - Single (independent)
Melvin Crispell, III Hold On - Single [RCAI]
Dex the Nerd Who Loves Jesus YES LORD - Single (independent)
Jon Foreman I Propose A Toast - Single [Capitol CMG]
Jonas Myrin Made for You - Single [Capitol CMG]
Open Heaven Wonderful Jesus - Single [DREAM]
Alexander Pappas A Great Awakening - Single [Capitol CMG]
Procyse All of Us (feat. Illustrate) - Single [Polished Arrow]
Skye Reedy Only Jesus | Names of God - Double Single [The Fuel]
Remedy Drive Real Life - Single (independent)
WHATUPRG This Time Last Year - Double Single [Reach]
BeBe Winans Father In Heaven (Right Now) - Single [Regimen]

This Saturday, April 13, 2024
Plumb Candycoatedwaterdrops (Reimagined) (independent)

Next Friday, April 19, 2024
Anne Wilson REBEL [Capitol CMG]
Treasure Seeker A Tribute to the Past (Reissue) [Ulterium]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Hope Beyond Suffering!

Listen to the new Album From Tim Juillet!

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images