Listen to the Album from Free As A Bird!
Listen to the New Album From Free As A Bird!

JFH Music Review

Hawk Nelson, Hawkology: A Hawk Nelson Anthology

Hawk Nelson
Hawkology: A Hawk Nelson Anthology

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 3 Discs: 37 tracks
Street Date: June 8, 2010


Hawk Nelson, in my mind, were the best Christian punk group out there, hailing from the Toronto area. Obviously, since 2012-13 with line-up changes, they weren't the same band and they started down the more pop-centric stylistic road, but, they were still Hawk Nelson.

This CD set includes the first 3 albums in this band's career as signed artists.

The first album Aaron Sprinkle (Kutless, Anberlin, Demon Hunter and countless other bands) produced, Letters To The President, was an outstanding debut release, though only peaking at 35 on the US Christian Charts. The entire album was written by the Hawk boys and Thousand Foot Krutch's Trevor McNevan, who helps with the band's material up until the end of the Jason Dunn era. The top songs on this disc would be the title track, "Right Here," "Take Me," and "Like a Racecar." To sum up the album without saying too much, it's a great release but could benefit from some maturing in the sound.

In 2006, Hawk Nelson released Smile, It's The End Of The World, their best release in my mind, using their Sum 41, Green Day and Blink-182 influences but still sounding like Hawk Nelson, and without the vulgarity of most secular punk bands. This is also the last Aaron Sprinkle-produced Hawk Nelson album. Line-up changes are also here, too, with Dave Clark (Guitar) and Matt Paige (Drums) exiting, and Jonathan Steingard (Guitar) and Aaron Tosti (drums) joining. The album starts off with the Sum 41-influenced "The One Thing I Have Left," serving as a great start to the album, and I feel like it was their best punk/alternative song. The Album charted at 75 on Billboard 200, with three songs peaking in the Top 20 on US Christian and Christian Airplay charts. The record also was nominated for Rock Album of the Year at the 2007 GMA'S. The best songs are "The One Thing I Have Left," "Everything You Ever Wanted," "Zero," and "Head-On Collision."

2008 brought Hawk Nelson Is My Friend, a solid response to their sophomore record. Once again, but certainly not for the last time, line-up changes struck again, this time Aaron Tosti exchanged for Justin Benner. The album opens with another Sum 41 influenced song, "You Have What I Need." Next is the highly Blink-182 influenced track, "Friend Like That." The record also has a surprising co-writer, Raine Maida of the band Our Lady Peace. Hawk Nelson Is My Friend was the most successful album from the boys, peaking on Billboard 200 at 34, number one on Top Christian Albums Chart, 13 on Billboard US Rock, and 10 on US Alternative charts. Only one of its four singles made it to the Top 20 on Christian charts, "Friend Like That." The top songs are "You Have What I Need," "Friend Like That," and "Somebody Else."

This anthology is top-notch Hawk Nelson fare and is worth the price if you can find it. One thing that is different from the individual albums is that Letters To The President has been remastered to be louder; when bought on iTunes the original album is quieter than the anthology version. Other than that, nothing else is different. If I could nitpick at one thing, it would be why not add the Live Life Loud album (2009) with this release (2010).

If you are a Hawk Nelson fan since the beginning, you probably won't need this, but if you have gotten into Hawk Nelson recently and you want to pick up their early works, before original vocalist Jason Dunn left and guitarist Jon Steingard took over as lead vocalist, then this your buy.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 2/28/20, written by Isaac Coates for

Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!


. Record Label: BEC Recordings
. Album length: 3 Discs: 37 tracks, 120 minutes and 44 seconds
. Street Date:June 8, 2010
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: (CD)
. Buy It: AmazonMP3

    Disc One: Letters To The President
  1. California (2:52)
  2. Things We Go Through (2:31)
  3. Every Little Thing (3:07)
  4. From Underneath (2:45)
  5. Letters To The President (3:13)
  6. Right Here (3:11)
  7. Recess (0:50)
  8. Take Me (3:30)
  9. Someone Else Before (3:17)
  10. First Time (2:37)
  11. Like A Race Car (2:48)
  12. Late Show (1:53)
  13. 36 Days (3:42)
  14. Long And Lonely Road (3:09)
    Disc Two: Smile, It's The End Of The World
  1. The One Thing I Have Left (3:07)
  2. The Show (3:13)
  3. Bring Em Out (3:23)
  4. Everything You Ever Wanted (4:05)
  5. Something On My Mind (4:19)
  6. Is Forever Enough (3:22)
  7. Zero (4:38)
  8. Nothing Left To Show (2:54)
  9. Head On Collision (4:07)
  10. Hello (3:00)
  11. It's Over (3:06)
  12. 14 (4:50)
    Disc Three: Hawk Nelson Is My Friend
  1. You Have What I Need (2:33)
  2. Friend Like That (2:49)
  3. Turn It On (3:08)
  4. One Little Miracle (2:58)
  5. Let's Dance (3:09)
  6. Ancient History (3:11)
  7. Somebody Else (3:18)
  8. Arms Around Me (3:30)
  9. Just Like Me (2:38)
  10. Not The Same (3:29)
  11. Words We Speak (2:52)
  12. I Still Miss You (3:51)


    Leave a Comment

    comments powered by Disqus



    go to main Album review page
    go to Album review archive


    (JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 22, 2021
Jim & Melissa Brady Ever Faithful [Daywind]
Teddy Campbell Band/font> Marry Me - Single [Gee Tree]
Casting Crowns The Power of the Cross - Single [Provident]
Stephen Christian Awaken - Single [BEC]
The Color No Greater Love [DREAM]
Jason Crabb Home for Christmas - EP [Red Street]
Sean Curran 1,000 Names - EP [Capitol CMG]
Hillsong Worship Thatís The Power (feat. Benjamin Hastings) - Single [Capitol CMG/Hillsong]
Idle Threat Driftwood - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Lion of Judah Closer [BEC/Gospel Song]
Lindsay McCaul Come, O Lord (Maranatha) - Single (independent)
The Old Paths Every Story Whispers His Name - Single [Sonlite]
Aaron Shust Every Morning - Single (independent)
Rebecca St. James Kingdom Come (feat. for KING & COUNTRY) - Single [Bethel]
Stephanie Summers Mighty Strong God [Provident]
Cade Thompson Cade Thompson Christmas - EP [Red Street]
Tim Timmons HERE (Live With Friends) [Integrity]
We The Kingdom A Family Christmas EP [Sparrow]
Zach Williams I Donít Want Christmas To End [Provident]
Anne Wilson My Jesus (feat. Crowder) - Single [Capitol CMG]

Next Friday, October 29, 2021
11th Hour Anthem of the Ages [Crossroads]
Gas Street Music This is Jesus - EP [Integrity]
Love & The Outcome Christmas Lights - Single [Curb/Word]
Marc Martel & Leigh Nash Welcome to Our World - Single
MŌRIAH Live from the Quarry - EP [Cathedral]
MŌRIAH Worth (feat. Joel Smallbone) - Single [Cathedral]
NEEDTOBREATHE Into the Mystery (Vinyl) [Centricity/Elektra]
Point of Grace Sing Noel [Curb/Word]
Sarah Reeves Winter Wonderland (feat. Clark Beckham) - Single [Curb/Word]
SongLab In The Greenhouse - EP [DREAM]
Stars Go Dim Home (feat. Hannah Ellis) - Single [Curb/Word]
Various Artists Dream Christmas Vol. 6 [DREAM]
War Of Ages Rhema - EP [Facedown]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single by Katie Lighty!

Listen to the new album from KAINA!