Listen to the latest JFH Compilation!
Listen to the latest JFH Compilation!

JFH Staff Review

Jill Phillips
Nobody's Got It All Together

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks
Street Date: May 30, 2006

Nobody's Got It All Together, album number four from Jill Phillips, sees this Nashville based artist returning to her independent roots with another album of Folk/Pop music. The album quickly starts off with the rock-tinged title track, which addresses the issue of Christians making themselves out to be something better than they really are, "Don't whitewash the truth about yourself/ Cause nobody's got it all together/ If you wanna be like everyone else/ Well nobody's got it all together." With a message of assurance like this, the song could easily be an anthem for colleges and churches across the country. The album cover also ties in nicely to the song, featuring pictures of twenty-four different people including the aforementioned Phillips, Andrew Peterson, and others.

The music is more folk-influenced this time around, starting with another anthem-type song, "Square Peg," this time for the Square Peg Alliance, a group of mostly-independent musicians from the Nashville area. In fact, most established independent musicians, and just Christians in general, would find comfort in this track, in which Phillips sings, "Like a square peg in a round hole/ I can't seem to fit their mold/ And make my way past the entrance/ I have had my turn to play/ But never understood their game/ And much less how someone wins it." Other notables include "Turn It Around," "Rise Above," and the album's last track, "I Am," which many may recognize from her first, self-titled release. This time around, a softer music track accompanies her vocals, which really helps bring out the beauty in the lyrics, and serves as the perfect bookend for the album.

As always, Phillips is greatly benefited from the influence of husband and fellow singer/songwriter Andy Gullahorn, whose harmonies are a welcomed replacement to the typical doubling that many indie artists use to add volume and strength to their vocals. Apart from a few production complaints and it being a little on the short side, overall Nobody's Got It All Together is a solid album with a great message of comfort and hope for all Christians alike.

- Review date: 5/28/06, written by Andrew Shaw

Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!


. Record Label: None
. Album length: 11 tracks
. Street Date: May 30, 2006
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It:

  1. Nobody's Got It All Together
  2. By A Thread
  3. Square Peg
  4. Daily Bread
  5. Turn It Around
  6. The Middle
  7. Moving On
  8. Never Let Me Down
  9. Rise Above
  10. The Door
  11. I Am




go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!

Search JFH

This Thursday, March 26, 2020
Christafari Pandemic (Covid-19 Quarantine Anthem) - Single [Lion of Zion]
Jason Dunn Dopamine - Single (independent)
Jason Dunn The Victory - Single (independent)

This Friday, March 27, 2020
The Belonging Co Holy (Song of the Ages) (independent)
Tina Boonstra What is the Rush - Single [7Core]
Mack Brock Even the Impossible (Live) - Single [Sparrow/Capitol]
Dillon Chase Better - Single [DREAM]
David Dunn Perspectives [BEC]
Elevation Rhythm This Moment - Single (independent)
Equippers Revolution Where Your Spirit Is (Single) [DREAM]
GAWVI Climate Change (Single) [Reach]
Hillsong Young & Free Lord Send Revival - Single [Hillsong/Capitol]
Jesus Culture Gold (Live) feat. Bryan & Katie Torwalt (Single) [Sparrow]
Mission House Behold (Deluxe Single) [Integrity]
Nashville Life Music Shepherd (feat. Leeland) - Single [Integrity]
Rend Collective Choose to Worship [Rend Family/Capitol]
Michael W. Smith Aprirai una via (Way Maker) - Single [Rocketown/The Fuel]
Rhett Walker Good To Me [Provident/Sony]

Next Friday, April 3, 2020
August Burns Red Guardians [Fearless]
Equippers Revolution FRVR - EP [DREAM]
Greg LaFollette I'll Wait for you, My Love (independent)
Passion Roar (Live From Passion 2020) (CD) [Sixsteps]
RED Declaration [RED/The Fuel]
Ian Yates Mystery [7 Core]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the new book from JFH Staff Member Tin Can Caldwell!

Listen to the new album from Mat Ogden!