Listen to the new compilation album from JFH!
Listen to the latest compilation album from JFH!

JFH Staff Review

Reset EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 7 tracks
Street Date: September 28, 2004

Within the ruins of some of the most unique and memorable artists is often where the birth of even more incredible ventures begin. In 2000, Sparrow Records introduced the incredible electronic-enhanced, reggae-flavored rock act Earthsuit. With a live performance that was a flurry of raw energy and musical hyperactivity, Earthsuit was a tour de force that sadly suffered from not being able to adequately capture their live presence on their studio recordings. A few years after their debut, the band disappeared from the scene.

MuteMath, one of two new acts born from the fall of Earthsuit, is fronted by Paul Meany, who provided keys and some vocals in Earthsuit, and features a sound not too far off the path the original act was following. While Eartsuit was somewhat of a stylistic smorgasbord of sorts, MuteMath is a piano and synths-driven rock band that wields a variety of sounds and samples to create a fresh new sound.

MuteMath's debut EP Reset is an atmospheric journey. The opener "Control" is a textured electronic-rock prayer of surrender to our God. Straight-forward and staying far enough away from ambiguity, MuteMath's lyrics will sacrifice clarity for beauty. The ambience and contemplative flow of "OK" helps strengthen the brokenness and honesty of the lyrics, "Down on my knees / Down on my face / You just say, it's OK / So many days I've thrown away / But you just say, it's OK / I don't think I could ever repay / Your perfect grace, but it's OK..." Songs like "Perculiar People" offer similar reggae-influenced rock that nabbed the attention of Earthsuit fans and may even surprise those who enjoyed The Police.

The EP is a collection of highlights including the instrumental spontaneity of the title track and the dreamy melodies of "Progress." Although relatively short with a mere seven tracks, it's a satisfying appetizer, whetting the listener's appetite to expect more incredible things ahead. Don't miss out on one of the best new artists of the year.

- Review date: 09/27/04, written by John DiBiase



Buy This CD Online

. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Teleprompt Records
. Album length: 7 tracks
. Street Date: September 28, 2004
. Buy It:

  1. Control
  2. Peculiar People
  3. OK
  4. Reset
  5. Plan B
  6. Progress
  7. Afterward
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new full-length album from our very own, Chase Tremaine!

Search JFH

This Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Hulvey Prelude [Reach]

This Friday, January 24, 2020
Cory Asbury The Father's House (Deluxe) - Single [Bethel]
Audrey Assad Shiloh - Single (independent)
Colony House Leave What's Lost Behind [Roon]
Colton Dixon Miracles - Single [Atlantic / Hear It Loud]
Jordan and Jessa I Cannot Outrun Your Grace - Single (independent)
William McDowell Only You Can Satisfy (feat. Chris Lawson) [Live] - Single [Integrity]
Nashville Life Music Reconciler - Single [Integrity]
Chris Renzema Springtime - Single [Centricity]
Silent Planet The Night God Slept Redux [Solid State]
Tauren Wells Citizen of Heaven [Provident Label Group]
Chase Tremaine Unfall (independent)

We Are The City RIP [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, January 31, 2020
Huntingtons ¡MUERTO, CARCEL, O ROCANROL! [Burnt Toast Vinyl]
Matt Redman Let There Be Wonder [Integrity]
Sammy Ward Hymns Anew [Vibraslap]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new double album from Jason Marion!

Listen to the new JFH Podcast episode!