Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

Take It Back!
Rumors of Revolt EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 5 tracks
Street Date: August 18, 2009

Just about a year ago, Take It Back! released their first full-length album and now they're back at it again, this time with a five song EP. The EP serves as a predecessor to a new full-length release that's set to come out later on this year. So what's changed? What's new?

The EP starts off with "American Fantasy," a solid punk track where the boys from Arkansas plainly state how they're choosing to live separate lives from the typical American dream. It's a great message for today's believers living here in our society and culture. "New Empires" delivers an even more blatant statement: Christ is King. The calling for believers to "Rise up true sons of Zion" chanted throughout the track send that message home. "What Are We Fighting For?" is a decent listen that sums up the new material being released on Rumors of Revolt.

Take It Back!'s EP also features two covers: Black Flag's cult hit "Rise Above," which originally came out in 1981, and fellow labelmates No Innocent Victim's song "To Burn Again." Both tracks come out very well and do the original songs justice. Overall, we have a solid and enjoyable release for all of you punk music rockers out there. There's nothing shiny and new that will make TIB! stand out, but the message is great, the music is good, and by the sounds of this teaser, fans can anticipate a great full-length release coming out in a few months.

- Review date: 8/12/09, written by Kevin Hoskins of


. Record Label: Facedown Records
. Album length: 5 tracks
. Street Date: August 18, 2009
. Buy It:

  1. New Empires
  2. What We are fighting for
  3. American Fantasy
  4. Rise Above
  5. To Burn Again



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

Next Friday, August 2
The Rocket Summer Sweet Shivers (independent)
Skillet Victorious [Atlantic]
Tenth Avenue North No Shame [Provident]
Matthew West Hello, My Name Is: Greatest Hits [Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads