Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!
Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!

JFH Music Review

Tidewater, The Beautiful Life EP

The Beautiful Life EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 3 tracks: 9 minutes, 43 seconds
Street Date: January 24, 2012

The St. Louis based one-man band Tidewater released the 3-song EP The Beautiful Life on January 24 through ROXR Records. Leading man Brett Allen recorded the EP through his third partnership with Sarah McLachlan producer Kevin Gales. The two created an electro-pop-rock EP dominated by Allen's higher range vocals and aided with Kenny Aronoff on percussion.

The EP opens with "Not Just Any Love," a song showcasing Allen's vocals as well as the Baylor University student's ability on banjo, mandolin, bass, and guitar. The chorus hits the listener in a wall of sound style. Of all three songs on the EP, this one explores the lowest of Allen's vocal range, the natural tenor hitting scratchy low notes to create a more mature sound.

The title track "The Beautiful Life" is immediately a much more electronically driven track opening not with guitars but with electronic whirs iconic of digital music. The John Mellencamp and Avril Lavigne drummer Kenny Aranoff's percussion is prevalent throughout the track and brings the digital sound down to earth alongside Allen's own vocals.

"Desire" opens immediately with heavy strings juxtaposed against electronic beats. The high-pitched strings against the techno-pop sound encourage a futuristic sound sewn together by Allen's soulful vocals. This track feels like a clever mix of the first two: the poppy "Not Just Any Love" and the more electronic "The Beautiful Life." Allen mixes his pop-rock sound with digital recordings to make a pop EP with a techno twist.

Tidewater has put together a release that combines soulful vocals, techno beats, and classic guitars to create a futuristic experience showcasing technology and music's merger. At a mere three songs, the EP is too short and lacks a certain depth, but is a fun listen appropriate for the full-time college student behind it.

- Review date: 2/3/12, written by Francesca Torquati of

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new EP from John Finch!


. Record Label: ROXR Records
. Album length: 3 tracks: 9 minutes, 43 seconds
. Street Date: January 24, 2012
. Buy It: AmazonMP3

  1. Not Just Any Love (3:20)
  2. The Beautiful Life (2:56)
  3. Desire (3:28)






Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new EP from John Finch!

Search JFH

This Friday, August 19, 2022
Elevation Worship LION: Live From The Loft [Elevation]
The Kramers Sing Me There [StowTown]
TobyMac Life After Death [Capitol CMG]

Abandon Best Days - Single (independent)
Bethel Music I Still Believe (feat. Brian Johnson) - Single [Bethel]
Blanca Never Too Far (feat. Ty Brasel) - Single [Curb/Word]
Cody Carnes Good (Can't Be Anything Else) - Single [Capitol CMG]
David & Nicole Binion I See Jesus - Single [Integrity]
Todd McVicker Dynamite - Single [Lula Street]
Starflyer 59 The Rocky Valentines - Single [Velvet Blue]
Zach Williams Big Tent Revival - Single [Provident]

Next Monday, August 22, 2022
Casting Crowns Healer (Deluxe) [Provident]

Next Friday, August 26, 2022
Becoming the Archetype Children of the Great Extinction [Solid State]
Rend Collective Whosoever [Capitol CMG]
Matt Sassano In Defiance EP [Rockfest]

Bride Drop (Vinyl) [Girder]
Dale Thompson and the Boon Dogs Dale Thompson and the Boon Dogs (Vinyl) [Girder]
Dale Thompson and the Boon Dogs I See Red (Vinyl) [Girder]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the New Album By Dan Loch & Jarred Cain!

Sign up for a JFH Indie Review

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images