Listen to the new single from Elevation Worship!
Listen to the new single from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

Joy Electric
We Are the Music Makers

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks
Street Date: March, 1996

This is such a refreshing album and here's why: Ronnie Martin's lyrics go beyond the cliched, boring and predictable lyrics that a lot of music offers today.

Martin is not only a musician, but an abstact storyteller as well. In every song he sculpts as Joy Electric, he creates a new and magical world with two elements. He successfully combines charming, playful and surreal sounds with great story-like lyrics. It's like every song takes you to another place. Martin is also a genius at writing beautiful and catchy melodies, which are often layered in each song and accompany his vocals beautifully.

His songs are complex and detailed, always offering something interesting to hear. As in the tradition of many classical and opera songs, there's always a story, place, or theme; something beyond a person just talking about their feelings. This is why I think Joy Electric's We Are the Music Makers has many elements that will always be timeless and classic.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 1/30/06, written by josh Nathan Graves for


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Tooth & Nail Records
. Album length: 10 tracks
. Street Date: March, 1996
. Buy It:

  1. Burgundy Years
  2. Old Castle Madrigal
  3. The Harvestry of Ghosts
  4. Hansel (I Will Be Your Friend)
  5. Christendom on White Horses
  6. Pilgrimage (Lo, I am With You Always)
  7. The 100 Knighthood
  8. May All Saints
  9. The Road to Monarchy
  10. I Beam, You Beam



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Jason Cameron!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, August 23
Pat Barrett Canvas and Clay (Live) [Bowyer & Bow / Capitol]
Vince Gill Okie [MCA Nashville]
Andy Mineo Work In Progress [Reach]
Gene Moore Tunnel Vision [Motown Gospel]
North Point En Espanol Mucho Mas - Single [Centricity]
The Porter's Gate Nothing To Fear (feat. Audrey Assad) - Single [Integrity]
Random Hero Tension [Rockfest]
TobyMac The St. Nemele Collab Sessions (Digital Only) [Forefront/Capitol]

Next Friday, August 30
Aaron Cole Not By Chance [Gotee]
Jeff & Sheri Easter You Are Loved [Capitol/Gaither]
Elevation Worship At Midnight (independent)
David Leonard The Wait: Silence the Noise (Live) [Integrity]
Paul and Hannah McClure The Way Home [Bethel]
Maranatha! Music Heart Of Worship - Tremble [Maranatha!]
North Point Inside Out Abundantly More EP [Centricity]
Sanctus Real Unstoppable God [Framework/Fair Trade]
Various Artists SOZO Playlists: Top Christian Hits [Capitol/Sparrow]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new single from Elevation Worship!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads

Listen to the new album from Wilder Adkins!