Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!
Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!

JFH Music Review




Pillar
Where Do We Go From Here: Limited Edition



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 14 tracks: 50 minutes, 22 seconds
Street Date: May 24, 2005


In 2002, Pillar began picking up significant momentum with their hard-driving sophomore release Fireproof. Although not entirely original and somewhat plagued by low-budget production work, Fireproof captured the attention of the mainstream market nonetheless. MCA put up the money to remix the record and punch it up sonically, while repackaging it and adding a special DVD made just for the fans. Now fast forward to 2005. A year ago, the band released what is arguably their best record to date, Where Do We Go From Here, and have increased their fanbase considerably in the process. But instead of earnestly prepping for a follow-up record or releasing an interim EP (like 2003's Broken Down), Where Do We Go From Here has been repackaged with another new DVD and includes two new bonus songs, together known as Where Do We Go From Here: Limited Edition. But why?

Undoubtedly, if you're a fan of Pillar and reading this review, there's a good chance you're wondering how worth it it would be to spend another ten or so of your hard-earned cash towards a repackaged record you already have and adore. Well, let's begin with the audio disc. The Where Do We Go From Here CD offers the same edgy twelve tracks that graced the 2004 release. But tacked onto the end is a remixed and remastered version of the band's U2 cover "Sunday Bloody Sunday" (previously only available on January 2004's In The Name Of Love compilation), and an industrial refacing of "Bring Me Down," titled "The Underground Mix." Both cuts are nice added bonuses, but definitely not worth buying the album all over again for. But then there's the DVD...

The brand new Pillar DVD, packaged as a second disc inside the jewel case, is candy for the Pillar fan. With an in-depth behind-the-scenes look at the making of the album (featuring raw footage of the guys on their bus working with demos, tracking, etc), two music videos, a behind-the-scenes of the "Bring Me Down" video (with special guest Audio Adrenaline frontman, Mark Stuart), easter eggs, and more, the DVD makes the purchase worth it. And you'll want to look closely at each feature, too. During some studio footage, a small Pillar logo flashes in the bottom right hand corner of the screen that, when clicked on, reveals a humorous little backstage tidbit. The same applies in the featured Photo Gallery. The logo appears on the second to last image that, when also clicked on, brings up a short video of lead vocalist Rob Beckley and a high school principal pranking a Pillar fan.

Where Do We Go From Here: Limited Edition, although an unnecessary re-release, improves upon an already noteworthy Christian rock album. If you haven't picked up the record yet (or if you're an avid fan), be sure to breeze right past the original release for this special fan treat.

For Josh Taylor's in-depth review of the songs featured on the 2004 release of Where Do We Go From Here, please click here.

- Review date: 6/1/05, written by John DiBiase




(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new EP from John Finch!

 

CD

Buy This CD Online


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Flicker Records
. Album length: 14 tracks, 50 minutes and 22 seconds
. Street Date: May 24, 2005
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. Hypnotized
  2. Bring Me Down (Chris Lord-Alge mix)
  3. Holding On
  4. Let It Out
  5. Simply
  6. Rewind
  7. Frontline
  8. Underneath It All
  9. Dirty Little Secret
  10. Staring Back
  11. One Thing
  12. Aftershock
  13. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  14. Bring Me Down (The Underground mix)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

              
Check out the new EP from John Finch!

Search JFH




This Thursday, August 11, 2022
SINGLES
Tyson Mostenbocker Wendy Darling - Single [Tooth & Nail]


This Friday, August 12, 2022
ALBUMS
Jesus Loves Electro Worship - EP [Integrity]
Norma Jean Deathrattle Sing for Me [Solid State]
Lathan Warlick Let's Be Honest [Provident]

SINGLES
1K Phew Church House Trap House - Single [Reach]
Dave Barnes Remembering: Greatest Hits Acoustic [Reach]
Amanda Danziger Refining Fire - Single [Integrity]
Avalon You Deserve It All - Single [Red Street]
Destiny Worship Music It Is Well - Single [Lula Street]
Fit for a King End (The Other Side) - Single [Solid State]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard The Moment - Single [Motown Gospel]
Blessing Offor My Tribe - Single [Capitol CMG]
Outbreakband Der Ausweg - Single [Integrity]
Selah Glória E Aleluia (feat. Gabriel Guedes) - Single [Integrity]
Thrive Worship Coming Back (feat. Mitch Wong) - Single [Integrity]
Brian Courtney Wilson Always Peace - Single [Motown Gospel]
Zahriya Zachary Simple Ways - Single [Bethel Music]


Saturday, August 13, 2022
ALBUMS
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying To Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume Eleven [JFH Music]


Next Friday, August 19, 2022
ALBUMS
TobyMac Life After Death [Capitol CMG]

SINGLES
Starflyer 59 The Rocky Valentines - Single [Velvet Blue]

For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the New Album By Dan Loch & Jarred Cain!




Sign up for a JFH Indie Review

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images