Listen to the new album from Sara Groves!
Listen to the new album from Sara Groves!

JfH OLD Music News


With May 27th street date around the corner, the debut album has three Top 20 singles in multiple formats

NEWS SOURCE: Nashville Publicity
May 21, 2008

(NASHVILLE, TENN.) -- Underground Sound, Volume One, the first project in a new CD series that will introduce Christian music fans to the hottest up-and-coming acts in Christian music today, will be released by NuSpring Records on May 27, 2008, distributed by EMI-CMG. With the street date around the corner, the album is achieving unprecedented radio success with three Top 20 singles in multiple formats, with two more waiting in the wings.

"Carl Cartee's 'Trust In You' is fast becoming a hit at Soft AC/Inspirational radio!" says radio promoter Mark Giles at Hit Radio Promo. "Landing at #10 on the CRW Inspo chart, listeners are voting yes, yes, YES!"

In addition to Carl Cartee's Top 10 hit, Paul Alan's "To Bring You Back" is currently in the Top 15 on the CRW and R&R CHR Chart, and the Jonny Diaz single "Hold Me" had a Top 20 on the CRW Indie Chart. In addition to these early successes, Jeff Johnson Band's "Ruin Me" is currently the top new and active song on the R&R AC Monitored chart, and should debut in the Top 30 of the AC Chart next week. "Something Wrong" from Separated is also getting attention from Christian rock programmers, and is only a few spins away from debuting on the R&R Rock Chart.

Other artists featured on Underground Sound, Volume One are Last Year Portrait, Maria Long, The Wrecking, Justin Cofield Band, Foolish Things, 1 Life, Shelly Moore Band, The Ride, Abbi Walker and Jessica McLean. Additional radio singles from the project are planned for summer and fall.

Executive Producer Paul Wright III (who was also instrumental in launching the popular WOW Gospel series) created the Underground Sound brand for the purpose of introducing the "Top 15 songs by the Top 15 artists" that are sure to be tomorrow's biggest and best artists in the Christian music genre. The producers started with over 1500 artists and narrowed the list down to the top 15 songs that represent the absolute best independent Christian artists in music today. All of the artists are full-time musicians, with extensive fan bases. Combined, they have in excess of more than 2.7 million song plays on their MySpace pages.

An aggressive marketing campaign is in place, including extensive online promotions and partnerships as well as a nationwide television promotion that will have many of the project's artists performing on local television morning programs in each of their hometowns following the album's release.

NuSpring Records is a Nashville-based record company, founded in 2007 by industry veteran Paul Wright III. NuSpring's artist roster includes Lamar Campbell, Daryl Coley, Ricky Dillard, Joe Pace, Isaac Simpson, Leesa Jordan, Image and The Classic Imperials.

# # #



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2017]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Mark Bishop!

Search JFH

This Friday, December 6
Balsam Range The Gospel Collection [Crossroads]
Jordan Feliz Faith (feat. Evan Craft) - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong Worship Awake (Vinyl) [Hillsong/Capitol]
Coby James Coby James - EP [Centricity]
Nashville Life Music Gloria (Single) [Integrity Music]
Northlander Forces of Light [Facedown Records]
Passion There's Nothing That Our God Can't Do - Single [Capitol]
Sovereign Grace Music The Glorious Christ (Live) [Integrity Music]
Stillman Whisper EP [Integrity Music]

Next Friday, December 13
Bloodgood Trenches of Rock - The Documentary Film Soundtrack [Meis Music Group]
Nothing Left Disconnected [Facedown]
Reba Rambo Lady (1976 - Remastered Digital Debut) [Sony/Provident]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Audra Oakley!

Listen to the new Christmas album from Phil Wickham!