Download the Latest Free Compilation from JFH!
Download the Latest Free Compilation from JFH!

JfH OLD Music News



RSS Icon

NEWS SOURCE: Woodlands Media
January 5, 2010

Brandon Heath Australia's national Christian music charts, The Rock Across Australia (TRAA), today announced Mat Kearney’s "Closer To Love" as the 2009 Song of the Year, and honored 30 year old American singer Brandon Heath as 2009 Artist of the Year.

This is first time Mat Kearney and Brandon Heath have earned TRAA honors.

The internationally acclaimed American singer/songwriter who has toured with John Mayer, The Fray and newsboys spent eight weeks atop TRAA with Closer To Love, the lead single from his City Of Black & White album.

Best known for his 2007 song "Nothing Left To Lose" which peaked at #41 on the Billboard Hot 100, Kearney regards himself as a mainstream act. His music is included in TRAA because of parallel distribution in the Christian sector.

Brandon Heath garnered Artist honors for three songs – Wait And See, Give Me Your Eyes, and Follow You (a duet with Leeland) – with each landing in the top half of TRAA’s end of year chart. His songs spent a total of 56 weeks in the survey with dual listings for some weeks.

Other contenders for TRAA awards this year included Francesca Battistelli. The US singer songwriter was the only act to score two number ones (Free To Be Me, and It’s Your Life).

TRAA’s annual airplay accolades recognise the artist or group gaining the most airplay on Australian Christian radio, plus the individual song generating the most airplay.

TRAA - published by Woodlands Media - compiles its weekly charts aggregating high rotation activity (derived from playlist reports, and airplay monitoring) across more than 20 stations in capital cities and regional markets.

The Rock Across Australia’s 2009 Top 100 Songs and Top 50 Artists Chart are available online here:

The Rock Across Australia’s analysis of 2009 is available here:

The Rock Across Australia has published its national Christian music charts weekly since 1999 at:


Song of the Year: This Is Home - Switchfoot
Artist of the Year: Britt Nicole

Song of the Year: Something Beautiful - newsboys
Artist of the Year: newsboys

Song of the Year: Like You Love Me – Nathan Tasker
Artist of the Year: Nathan Tasker

Song of the Year: Gloria (All God’s Children) – Paul Colman
Artist of the Year: Bethany Dillon

Song of the Year: Beautiful – Bethany Dillon
Artist of the Year: Jars Of Clay

Song of the Year: (There’s Gotta Be) More to Life – Stacie Orrico
Artist of the Year: Stacie Orrico

Song of the Year: Purified - Michael W Smith
Artist of the Year: Michael W. Smith

Song of the Year: These Thousand Hills - Third Day
Artist of the Year: Paul Colman Trio

Song of the Year: Shackles (Praise You) - Mary Mary
Artist of the Year: Paul Colman Trio

Song of the Year: There's No Power in Pity - Cliff Richard
Artist of the Year: dc Talk



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2020]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Chase Tremaine!

Search JFH

This Friday, January 22, 2021
Pat Barrett Act Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly - Single [Bowyer & Bow]
Blanca Soy - Single [Curb/Word]
CAIN Rise Up (Lazarus) [Song Session] - Single [Provident]
Cochren & Co. Don't Lose Hope [Gotee]
Sean Curran Ways - Single [sixsteps/Sparrow]
Everybody Worship & Nick & Becky Drake The Ark - Single [Integrity]
Hillsong Worship Fresh Wind - Single [Capitol CMG]
Phil Joel Better Than I Found It - EP (independent)
JUDAH. You’ve Done The Rest (ft. Jon Guerra) - Single [Capitol/LilhomieCHANCHO]
The Kingdom Heirs God Knows How Much Mercy I Need - Single [Sonlite]
Branan Murphy This World Is Not My Home - Single [DREAM]
River Valley Worship Shadows / Spotlights - Single (Ensemble Version) [DREAM]
Chase Tremaine Development & Compromise (independent)

Next Friday, January 29, 2021
Anberlin More To Living Than Being Alive: Lockdown Livestream September 18, 2020 Vinyl (independent)
Lincoln Brewster Perfect Love [Integrity]
Madison Street Worship God of Salvation (I Still Believe) (Revisted) - Single [Integrity]
Remedy Drive Imago Amor (independent)
REVERE Come And Tear Down The Walls (Corey Voss & Sarah Kroger) - Single [Integrity]
Joel Vaughn Louder than the Lies [DREAM]
We Are Messengers Image Of God (feat. Vince Gill) - Single [Curb/Word]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single by Randy Seedorff!

Listen to the new album from NamedTobias!