Submit Your Song in the International Songwriting Competition to Win Cash and Other Prizes!
Submit Your Song in the International Songwriting Competition to Win Cash and Other Prizes!

JfH OLD Music News


Albums Feature Hymns of John Newton, William Cowper, Fanny Crosby, Ira D. Sankey

RSS Icon

NEWS SOURCE: Hoganson Media
March 4, 2011

The Hymn Makers series features the best-known hymns of all time, and calls to mind the magnificent heritage of music found in the Christian church. Kingsway will release four projects in this series simultaneously through EMI CMG Distribution March 22: Best Loved Hymns: How Great Thou Art, Amazing Grace: The Hymns of John Newton & William Cowper, Blessed Assurance: The Hymns of Fanny Crosby and Just As I Am: The Hymns of Ira D. Sankey. All value priced at $7.99, the recordings each feature 14 hymns with choral vocals and classically styled instrumentation that hearken back to the great choirs that led the worship at the D. L. Moody and the later Billy Graham crusades.

Recorded by The Celebration Choir with members of The Salvation Army Citadel Band, Best Loved Hymns contains such classics as “How Great Thou Art,” “Be Thou My Vision” and “Mine Eyes Have Seen The Glory.” The title track of Amazing Grace is likely the most popular and best loved hymn of all time, as the recording features the songs of John Newton and William Cowper. Blessed Assurance includes 14 of the 9,000 hymns written by Fanny Crosby, such as “Praise Him Praise Him,” “To God Be The Glory” and “Blessed Assurance.” The Sheffield Celebration Choir, conducted by Jackie Williams, recorded Blessed Assurance and Just As I Am. With 14 of the 1200 songs published in Sankey’s Sacred Songs and Solos, Just As I Am includes the timeless “Trust and Obey,” “What A Friend We Have In Jesus” and the title track, “Just As I Am.”

“Hymns have the ability to touch our hearts and minds, strengthening us in times of weakness, comforting us in times of pain, creating faith in times of doubt and bringing joy in times of sorrow,” says Steve Nicolle, Kingsway Music VP, North America. “Essayist George Sampson once said: ‘The hymn echoes in the heart when the sermon is forgotten.’ The remarkable songs in The Hymn Makers series have literally touched the lives of hundreds of millions over three centuries of Christian hymnody.”

The full track listing for each The Hymn Makers recording follows:

Best Loved Hymns: How Great Thou Art
01. Praise My Soul The King Of Heaven
02. How Great Thou Art
03. Great Is Thy Faithfulness
04. There Is A Name I Love To Hear
05. At The Name Of Jesus
06. A Safe Stronghold Our God Is Still
07. The King Of Love My Shepherd Is
08. More About Jesus Would I Know
09. Dear Lord And Father Of Mankind
10. Make Me A Channel Of Your Peace
11. Be Thou My Vision
12. Mine Eyes Have Seen The Glory
13. Abide With Me
14. Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow

Amazing Grace: The Hymns of John Newton & William Cowper
01. Glorious Things Of Thee Are Spoken
02. Amazing Grace
03. Now May He Who From The Dead
04. Rejoice Believer In The Lord
05. Behold The Throne Of Grace
06. One There Is Above All Others
07. O For The Closer Walk With God
08. Sometimes A Light Surprise
09. Let Us Love And Sing And Wonder
10. Jesus Where'er Thy People Meet
11. How Sweet The Name Of Jesus Sounds
12. Hark My Soul It Is The Lord
13. God Moves In A Mysterious Way
14. May The Grace Of Christ Our Saviour

Blessed Assurance: The Hymns of Fanny Crosby
01. Blessed Assurance
02. Draw Me Nearer
03. Every Day And Hour
04. He Hideth My Soul
05. Rescue The Perishing
06. Close To Thee
07. All The Way My Saviour Leads Me
08. Praise Him Praise Him
09. Moments Of Prayer
10. Pass Me Not
11. Near The Cross
12. Saved By Grace
13. Safe In The Arms Of Jesus
14. To God Be The Glory

Just As I Am: The Hymns of Ira D. Sankey
01. We're Marching To Zion
02. Count Your Blessings
03. Trust And Obey
04. My Jesus I Love Thee
05. Shall We Gather At The River
06. O Happy Day
07. Stand Up For Jesus
08. Just As I Am
09. What A Friend We Have In Jesus
10. Have You Been To Jesus
11. Rock Of Ages
12. It Is Well
13. I Will Sing The Wondrous Story
14. When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder

About Kingsway:
Tracing its music heritage to 1969, Kingsway today is known as a leader in Worship Music. As the creator of Thank You Music, and later in partnership with EMI, its catalogue includes songs such as “Here I Am to Worship,” “In Christ Alone,” “Everlasting God” and “Blessed Be Your Name” to name a few.

Kingsway’s songs are sung in more than 300,000 churches worldwide accounting for over 30% of CCLI’s (Church Copyright Licensing International) bestseller list. With writers and artists like Tim Hughes, Matt Redman, Delirious?, Graham Kendrick and Stuart Townend, Kingsway is dedicated to feeding the Church with songs that will change the world. As the music arm of David C Cook, a non-profit organization located in Colorado Springs, CO, a significant portion of the profits that Kingsway and David C Cook generate are used to provide discipleship and music materials free of charge to church leaders in developing parts of the world who wouldn’t be able to get them any other way.

# # #



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2020]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Breakaway Worship!

Search JFH

This Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Skillet Surviving The Game - Single [Atlantic]

This Friday, September 17, 2021
Bethel Music I Believe (Live) - Single [Bethel Music]
Celtic Worship Because He Lives - Single [Integrity]
Jon Foreman Jesus, I Have My Doubts (Live) - Single (independent)
ICF Worship Unser Vater - EP [Integrity]
The Lore Family The World Needs A Song - Single [Horizon]
Lucinda Moore Lord, I Hear You - Single [Sony/The Orchard]
MŌRIAH Known, Seen, Loved - Single [Cathedral]
Planetshakers Revival (Live) [Venture3 Media]
Planetshakers Revival (Live) Deluxe Edition [Venture3 Media]
Oba Reengy Don't Leave (Remix) (feat. Royce Lovett) - Single [DREAM]
RNW Music Hope (Live) [BEC]
Silent Planet Terminal - Single [Solid State]
TobyMac Promised Land - Single [Capitol CMG]
Various Artists Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal, Vol. 2 [JFH Music]
Vineyard Worship LoFi Vineyard 2: Chill Worship Beats to Focus and Relax - EP [Integrity]
We Are Messengers Friend Of Sinners - Single [Curb/Word]

Next Friday, September 24, 2021
Bethel Music Homecoming (Live) [Bethel]
Citizens The Joy Of Being Together [Integrity]
for KING & COUNTRY For God Is With Us - Single [Curb/Word]
Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Music Jonny x Mali: Live in LA (Stereo) - EP [Life Room Label]
Leigh Nash The Tide, Vol. 1 - EP [Visionary]
Brian Reith Now Is Not Forever "Reimagined" (independent)
Switch Better View, Part I - EP [Essential Worship]
Thrive Worship Let's Have Church EP [Integrity]
Chris Tomlin Emmanuel: Christmas Songs Of Worship [Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single by Katie Lighty!

Listen to the new album from KAINA!