Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!
Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!

JFH Music News Report


EMP Writer Ethan Hulse Named BMI's Christian Songwriter Of The Year

Ethan Hulse

RSS Icon 

July 28, 2020

NASHVILLE, TENN. (JULY 28, 2020) - Announced earlier this week, BMI names Essential Music Publishing (EMP) Christian Publisher of the Year. Additionally, EMP writer Ethan Hulse is BMI's Christian Songwriter of the Year. This is a repeat for both as they each received these honors in 2019. 
EMP also received twelve individual song awards, which are listed below. BMI also recognized other EMP songwriters this year including Matt Maher, Tauren Wells, Zach Williams, Mark Hall, Elevation Worship, as well as partners at Fair Trade Services - Phil Wickham, Micah Tyler, and Austin French. 
“Essential Music Publishing is incredibly honored to be named BMI’s Christian Publisher of the Year for the second consecutive year," Terry Hemmings, CEO and President, Provident Entertainment. "This award is the result of the talented roster of amazing songwriters and artists who form the Provident Entertainment family. It is our great honor and privilege to work with these talented individuals as well as the wonderful creative and administrative team whose efforts carry these songs around the world.”
Christian Songwriter of the Year Ethan Hulse was the co-writer on four songs recognized this year ("Known" - recorded by Tauren Wells, "Haven't Seen It Yet" - recorded by Danny Gokey, "Scars" - recorded by I Am They, "Confidence" - recorded by Sanctus Real). Hulse signed his first publishing deal with Essential Music Publishing in 2016 and has become one of the most sought after writers in Christian music. With cuts also recorded by Cory Asbury, Bethel Music, and Josh Baldwin, among others, Hulse has four No. 1 songs to his name including his most recent, "The Father's House" by Cory Asbury. 
“In such a short amount of time, Ethan and his songs have made a lasting impact on the Christian music genre," shares Holly Zabka, Sr. Vice President, Essential Music Publishing. "Essential Music Publishing is humbled to be a part of his songwriting journey and grateful he calls EMP home."
Essential Music Publishing 2020 BMI Individual Awards:
"What A Friend" 
"Haven’t Seen it Yet" 
"Only Jesus"
"Living Hope"
"Even Then" 
"Til’ I Found You" 
"Freedom Hymn"

Essential Music Publishing has more than 15,000 copyrights and 60+ No. 1 songs, including "You Say" recorded by Lauren Daigle, which also went No. 1 on the Mainstream Adult Contemporary Top 40 Chart, Cory Asbury's "Reckless Love," Zach Williams' "Chain Breaker," "Only Jesus" by Casting Crowns, and "Known" by Tauren Wells, among many others.
In the last 12 years, EMP has been responsible for signing and partnering with songwriters such as Hulse, Jason Ingram, Matt Maher, Jonathan Smith, Mia Fieldes, Ran Jackson, and Bryan Fowler, to name just a few. They have also signed and represented Provident Label Group artist songwriters including Zach Williams, Tauren Wells, Matt Maher, I AM THEY, Elle Limebear, Vertical Worship, Rhett Walker, and more.
EMP is responsible for developing the Essential Worship imprint and church marketing platform representing hundreds of worship songs to the church, including "Great Are You Lord," "The Blessing," "King of Kings," "Reckless Love, "O Come to the Altar," "Tremble," "Glorious Day," as well as worship/church platforms Elevation Worship, Vertical Worship, one sonic society, Red Rocks Worship and others. 
The publishing company is also behind many of today's biggest country songs and to date has four No.1's. Three were written by EMP's Casey Brown for Russell Dickerson's "Every Little Thing," "Blue Tacoma," and "Yours." EMP has also published “Flatliner,” written by Matt Brownleewe and recorded by Cole Swindell and Dierks Bentley. 
Recently, Essential Music Publishing's parent company, Provident Music Group, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, announced it has re-branded as Provident Entertainment to showcase the company's wide spectrum of industry-leading faith-based entertainment. Provident Entertainment, which operates under the umbrella of Sony Music Nashville, includes Provident Label Group, RCA Inspiration, Essential Worship, Essential Music Publishing, Provident Films, and Essential Artist Services. As a faith-based entertainment industry leader, Provident Entertainment and each of its entities strive to produce products that engage faith-minded audiences with positive messages. 




Leave a Comment



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2022]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Check out the new EP from Darby Hughes!

Search JFH

This Wednesday, September 21, 2022
REVERE Onipotente / Omnipotent (feat. Lucy Grimble) - Single [Integrity]

This Friday, September 23, 2022
29:11 Worship Say It Again [DREAM Worship]
Anchor Hymns Be Unto Your Name - EP [Integrity]
Blanca The Heartbreak And The Healing [Curb/Word]
Bethel Music Simple [Bethel]
Ben Fuller Who I Am [Provident]
ICF Worship Treuer Gott - EP [Integrity]
Lakewood Music SHOUT! [Lakewood]
Tyson Mostenbocker Milk Teeth [Tooth & Nail]
Newsboys STAND (Deluxe) [Capitol CMG]

Maria Gilpin Rend Your Heart - Single [7Core Music]
Philippa Hanna Loved Me First - Single [Integrity]
Benjamin William Hastings Eden (Isn't Just Like You?) - Single [Capitol CMG]
David Leonard Good Lord (feat. Katy Nichole) - Single [Provident]
Matt Maher One Heart at a Time - Single [Provident]
Leigh Nash Made for This (Acoustic) - Single [Visionary]
Matt Redman Son of Suffering - Single [Integrity]

Next Friday, September 30, 2022
Cody Carnes God is Good! [Capitol CMG]
Disciple Back Again (2003) CD Re-Release [Girder]
Disciple By God (2001) CD Re-Release [Girder]
Disciple This Might Sting A Little CD Re-Release [Girder]
Disciple What Was I Thinking (1995) CD Re-Release [Girder]
JJ Hairston Believe Again [Tribl/JamesTown]
Evvie McKinney Love, Evvie McKinney [Capitol CMG]
SEU Worship Heart Cry [Provident]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]
Zach Williams A Hundred Highways [Provident]
Ian Yates Between The Joy And The Sorrow: Part 2 [7Core Music]

Meredith Andrews Carry The World - Single [Word Worship]
Moriah Trust - Single [Cathedral Company]
For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the New Album By Before Flags!

Listen to the new album by Stephanie Haavik

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images