Submit Your Song in the International Songwriting Competition to Win Cash and Other Prizes!
Submit Your Song in the International Songwriting Competition to Win Cash and Other Prizes!

JFH Music News Report


Essential Music Publishing's Ethan Hulse Named BMI Christian Songwriter of the Year

RSS Icon 

August 4, 2021

NASHVILLE, TENN. (AUGUST 04, 2021) - BMI has recently named Essential Music Publishing (EMP) writer Ethan Hulse as BMI's Christian Songwriter of the Year. This is the third consecutive year that he has received this honor. In addition, EMP received 11 individual song awards (listed below) representing 12 of the team's writers.
"We are incredibly proud of this group of songs and the writers who helped create them," shares Holly Zabka, Sr. Vice President for Essential Music Publishing and Head of Creative for Provident Label Group. "As a publishing company, it’s so encouraging to not just see a large number of songs represented, but so many different writers from our Essential Music Publishing team contributing. Honored to celebrate alongside them and excited for what’s next."
Christian Songwriter of the Year Ethan Hulse was the co-writer on three songs recognized this year "Rescue Story" (Zach Williams), "Stand In Your Love" (Josh Baldwin), and "The Father's House" (Cory Asbury). Hulse signed his first publishing deal with Essential Music Publishing in 2016 and has become one of the most sought-after writers in Christian music. With cuts also recorded by Cory Asbury, Bethel Music, Josh Baldwin, and Zach Williams, Hulse has seven No. 1 songs to his name.
Essential Music Publishing – BMI Song Awards (EMP writers):

"Rescue Story"
(Ethan Hulse, Andrew Ripp, Jonathan Smith, Zach William

"Stand In Your Love"
(Ethan Hulse)

"The Father’s House"
(Ethan Hulse)

"God’s Not Done With You"
(Tauren Wells)

"See A Victory"
(Chris Brown, Steven Furtick, Jason Ingram)

"The Blessing"
(Chris Brown, Steven Furtick)

(Jason Ingram, Jonathan Smith, Zach Williams)

(Mark Hall)

"The God Who Stays"
(Jonathan Smith)

(Ran Jackson, Ricky Jackson)

"Yes I Will"
(Mia Fieldes, Jonathan Smith)
About Essential Music Publishing: EMP is a full-service music publishing company providing publishing rights management and administration, licensing, royalty collection, and payment on behalf of their award-winning songwriters and catalog administration clients. In just a few short years, EMP has become a vital creative community that empowers songwriters whose songs impact the world in various media and multiple genres. 
Essential Music Publishing has more than 15,000 copyrights and 60+ No. 1 songs, including "You Say" recorded by Lauren Daigle, which also went No. 1 on the Mainstream Adult Contemporary Top 40 Chart, Cory Asbury's "Reckless Love," Zach Williams' "Chain Breaker," "Only Jesus" by Casting Crowns, and "Known" by Tauren Wells, among many others. 
EMP is responsible for developing the Essential Worship imprint and church marketing platform representing hundreds of worship songs to the church, including "Great Are You Lord," "The Blessing," "King of Kings," "Reckless Love, "O Come to the Altar," "Tremble," "Glorious Day," as well as worship/church platforms Elevation Worship, Vertical Worship, one sonic society, Red Rocks Worship and others. 
Essential Music Publishing is under Provident Entertainment, a division of Sony Music Entertainment. Find out more at



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2020]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Breakaway Worship!

Search JFH

This Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Skillet Surviving The Game - Single [Atlantic]

This Friday, September 17, 2021
Bethel Music I Believe (Live) - Single [Bethel Music]
Celtic Worship Because He Lives - Single [Integrity]
Jon Foreman Jesus, I Have My Doubts (Live) - Single (independent)
ICF Worship Unser Vater - EP [Integrity]
The Lore Family The World Needs A Song - Single [Horizon]
Lucinda Moore Lord, I Hear You - Single [Sony/The Orchard]
MŌRIAH Known, Seen, Loved - Single [Cathedral]
Planetshakers Revival (Live) [Venture3 Media]
Planetshakers Revival (Live) Deluxe Edition [Venture3 Media]
Oba Reengy Don't Leave (Remix) (feat. Royce Lovett) - Single [DREAM]
RNW Music Hope (Live) [BEC]
Silent Planet Terminal - Single [Solid State]
TobyMac Promised Land - Single [Capitol CMG]
Various Artists Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal, Vol. 2 [JFH Music]
Vineyard Worship LoFi Vineyard 2: Chill Worship Beats to Focus and Relax - EP [Integrity]
We Are Messengers Friend Of Sinners - Single [Curb/Word]

Next Friday, September 24, 2021
Bethel Music Homecoming (Live) [Bethel]
Citizens The Joy Of Being Together [Integrity]
for KING & COUNTRY For God Is With Us - Single [Curb/Word]
Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Music Jonny x Mali: Live in LA (Stereo) - EP [Life Room Label]
Leigh Nash The Tide, Vol. 1 - EP [Visionary]
Switch Better View, Part I - EP [Essential Worship]
Thrive Worship Let's Have Church EP [Integrity]
Chris Tomlin Emmanuel: Christmas Songs Of Worship [Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single by Katie Lighty!

Listen to the new album from KAINA!