Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 12!
Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 12!

JFH Music News Report


Donald Lawrence Honors Twinkie Clark on 'Power, A Tribute to Twinkie Clark'

RSS Icon 

September 15, 2023

Nashville, TN (September 15, 2023) - Donald Lawrence has released his latest full-length album, Donald Lawrence Presents Power: A Tribute to Twinkie Clark. The GRAMMY®-winning legendary producer, recording artist, songwriter and music director delivers a reimagined 8-track project honoring the legendary Twinkie Clark’s early solo work. Blazing a new trail, Lawrence creates a packed lineup of special performances with bold, sonic melodies on new covers of Twinkie Clark’s songs from her classic 1981 Power album. Making a powerful celebration with the Clark family’s iconic voices and other beloved musical greats, some of the album’s featured stars include performances from The Clark Sisters, Kierra Sheard, Yolanda Adams, Sir The Baptist, PJ Morton, J Moss, among others. The album’s two lead singles are “In Him There Is No Sorrow” (with Yolanda Adams) and “Fix Me Jesus” (feat. Sir The Baptist, Jason Ferdinand & The Jason Ferdinand Singers). Along with the new album, newly-released is a lyric video for the song “Awake O’ Zion” (feat. J Moss & Daniel Weatherspoon), which premiered on YouTube. 

Lawrence’s new album Donald Lawrence Presents Power: A Tribute to Twinkie Clark, pays tribute to the historic artistry of Twinkie Clark’s songwriting and her continued impact in gospel music today. Donald Lawerence performs an impactful soulful rendition with the history-making gospel group The Clark Sisters, in the title track “Power” (feat. The Clark Sisters & Mr. Talkbox). The reinterpretation conveys a powerful message of faith, empowerment, and the significance of the Holy Spirit. Bridging different generations of gospel music together, all the artists in collaboration with Lawrence present their own fresh interpretations on Twinkie Clark’s classic songs, paving the way for her songs to continue impacting the next generation of gospel artists and fans everywhere, with songs like “My Soul Loves Jesus” (feat. Shirley Murdock, Kierra Sheard, Jekalyn Carr & Kelontae Gavin), “Praise The Lord” (feat. PJ Morton), and more.  

Donald Lawrence has established an illustrious career as a producer, songwriter, recording artist, music director, and choir master. His work has garnered recognition around the globe, with numerous prestigious awards, including GRAMMY, Stellar, and Dove Awards, chart-topping songs and albums, over 200 million career streams, and praise for his visually-stunning, musically-unforgettable performances. Lawrence’s impact on the gospel music landscape continues to shape the style and sound of gospel. He played a pivotal part in shaping the distinctive sound of the renowned group The Clark Sisters and their individual works. He served as the music director for the highly acclaimed 2020 hit Lifetime movie biopic, "The Clark Sisters: First Ladies of Gospel," and produced its accompanying soundtrack. His work extends across gospel, R&B genres, entertainment and theater, collaborating with artists like Stephanie Mills, En Vogue, Mary J. Blige, BeBe Winans, Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Kirk Franklin, and others. Lawrence has been at the forefront of molding a vibrant style and sound in choir music, both through his own groups, The Tri-City Singers and Company, with the release of celebrated gospel albums and hit tracks, including "Encourage Yourself" "The Blessing of Abraham," "Deliver Me (This Is My Exodus)," and "The Gift." He is back as the music supervisor for the McDonald’s Inspiration Celebration ® Gospel Tour, with shows hitting six cities from September to December.  

Donald Lawrence, “Awake O’ Zion” (feat. J Moss & Daniel Weatherspoon) Lyric Video 

Check Out Donald Lawrence’s New Album, Available Now.  

Donald Lawrence Presents Power: A Tribute to Twinkie Clark 

Donald Lawrence Presents Power: A Tribute to Twinkie Clark Album Tracklist:  

  1. "In Him There Is No Sorrow" (Donald Lawrence & Co. & Yolanda Adams)  
  2. "Power” (feat. The Clark Sisters & Mr. Talkbox) 
  3. “My Soul Loves Jesus” (Donald Lawrence & Co. feat. Shirley Murdock, Kierra Sheard, Jekalyn Carr & Kelontae Gavin) 
  1. "His Yoke Is Easy” (feat. Brayla) 
  2. "Awake O’ Zion” (feat. J Moss & Daniel Weatherspoon) 
  3. "Fix Me Jesus” (feat. Sir The Baptist, Jason Ferdinand & The Jason Ferdinand Singers) 
  4. "Praise The Lord” (feat. PJ Morton) 
  5. "Awake O’ Zion” (Remix) 

To connect with Donald Lawrence, visit:  



Instagram/Facebook/X: @donaldlawrence 


Leave a Comment


News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2022]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new single from AOH Music!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 29, 2023
Blanca The Heartbreak And The Healing (Deluxe Edition) [Curb/Word]
Equippers Worship Desert River EP - Single [DREAM]
The Inspirations Reunion LIVE [Horizon]
RED Rated R [RED/The Fuel]
Still Worship Cello Vol. 1 [Integrity]
Vineyard Worship This Joy [Integrity]

Citizens everything and more (acoustic) - Single [Integrity]
Amy Jay Joke - Single [A for Effort]
The Katinas Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus - Single (independent)
Chase Tremaine Time - Single (independent)

Next Friday, October 6, 2023
Kirk Franklin Father's Day [RCA/Fo Yo Soul]
Amy Grant Lead Me On Live 1989 [AG/Sparrow]
Natalie Grant Seasons [Curb/Word]
Lucy Grimble Ready For The Dawn [Integrity]
Hillsong UNITED Zion (X) [Capitol CMG]
ONE House Music Eyes Up - EP [Re:Think/Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new EP from Wind And Sail!

Download the latest JFH compilation FREE

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images