Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!
Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!

JFH Music Review

From The Inside Looking In EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 5 tracks: 20 minutes, 27 seconds
Street Date: March 25, 2005

From Essential Records, the label that is home to award-winning bands like Jars of Clay, Third Day, and the more recent Day of Fire, comes a new alternative/powerpop band out of Texas by the name of Nevertheless. Although their debut LP won't be available until around August of 2006, they are currently offering a 5-song debut EP, From The Inside Looking In, at their shows. This band's EP contains just a handful of songs that showcase alt-rock guitars and emo-type vocals, often drawing comparisons to bands like Further Seems Forever and The Juliana Theory.

This short effort begins with "These Four Walls," which starts off with a vibrating guitar intro that leads into a powerpop number with honest and sometimes emotional lyrics. The track "Driving" sounds rather appropriate as the musical arrangement is purely 'driven' by straight-laced rock melodies and lyrics that mention an individual who is 'driven' to trade his emptiness for God's grace. The acoustic guitar-ridden feel of "False Starts" is about getting off on the wrong foot when going into battle and being left in a state of confusion. The mid-tempo modern rock feel of "Cries From the City" paints a haunting image of a girl in a depressed state of mind, longing to be noticed by Someone who cares about her struggles and pains. The album's final track, "Lover," slows the rhythm of the EP down heavily, yet is anything but a disappointment to the listener's ears.

Due to the fact that Nevertheless tends to sound like many of today's popular emo bands, From The Inside Looking In is still only the beginning for this up and coming band hailing from the deep south. Once they are given ample time to record a full-length album and have it blended together by a top-notch producer, Nevertheless may turn more than a few heads in 2006, and possibly the years to come. These guys may prove once and for all that emo is far from being dead.

- Review date: 11/24/05, written by Paul Portell

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new album from Rev Music!


. Record Label: Independent / Essential
. Album length: 5 tracks, 20 minutes and 27 seconds
. Street Date: March 25, 2005
. Buy It: iTunes

  1. These Four Walls
  2. False Starts
  3. Driving
  4. Cries From the City
  5. Lover
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new album from Rev Music!

Search JFH

This Thursday, May 19, 2022
Switchfoot interrobang (b-side) - Single [Fantasy]

This Friday, May 20, 2022
Avalon Worship Avalon Worship [Red Street]
Bryan & Katie Torwalt I've Got Good News [Capitol CMG]
Amanda Cook State of the Union [Provident]
DeGarmo and Key No Turning Back Live (1982) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Mission of Mercy (1983) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Communication (1984) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Commander Sozo (1985) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key Streetlight (1986) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key D&K (1987) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
DeGarmo and Key The Pledge (1989) [Remastered] CD [Girder]
Gateway Worship Español Grande Y Fiel (Great And Faithful) [Gateway/Integrity]
The Perrys John 3:16 [StowTown]
Watashi Wa People Like People [Tooth & Nail]

Maverick City Music Kingdom (feat. Kirk Franklin) - Single [Tribl]
Rend Collective Plans - Single [Capitol CMG]
The Talleys I Don't Belong - Single [Crossroads]

Next Thursday, May 26, 2022
ICF Sunday Night Perfect Love - Single [Integrity]

Next Friday, May 27, 2022
ICF Worship Here's To The One We Love [Integrity]
Mission House Live From Raleigh [Integrity]

Ian Yates God You’ve Never Failed Me - Single [7 Core]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the New EP by Iryne Rock!

Sign up for a JFH Indie Review