Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!
Listen to the new album from ‎Jekalyn Carr!

JFH Staff Review




Building 429
Space In Between Us



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 47 minutes, 49 seconds
Street Date: July 27, 2004


On April 6th of this year, newcomers Building 429 released a debut EP entitled Glory Defined which garnered them a huge Christian radio hit in the form of the title track. Nearly four months later, and with momentum unlike most debut acts, they released the much-anticipated, full-length Space In Between Us.

Playing a brand of worshipful southern rock acoustic not so different from Third Day, Space begins with the much-lauded "Glory Defined." Lyrically, it's stuff we can all relate to. Man's imperfections as compared to the glory of the Savior. "It's always the simple things. It's always the obvious that crashes over me Until I wake up to find Your glory defined When I cross over Jordan, I know I'll be running home to You."

The lyrics are Building's strongest point; it's the music of this band that brings them down to the mundane state of "been there, done that" that crowds the Christian market. Honestly, I had heard "Glory Defined" numerous times over the radio before I actually realized that they were a new band. As stated above, they apply elements of Third Day with hints of Big Daddy Weave and others to formulate a journey through explored territory.

However, you cannot fuse the sounds of different bands without creating something at least, to some degree, original. And upon repeated listens, Building 429 does have a bit of addictive power. The songs all run together initially, but eventually you may find yourself singing along.

But nothing really makes Building 429 stand out among the rest. For fans of the southern rock genre, Space In Between Us is definitely worth a listen. Building 429 may not think outside of the box, but what they do, they do pretty well. Perhaps if they build from here, we'll hear better things from them in the future.

- Review date: 09/20/04, written by Josh Taylor



Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

 


. Artist Info: Building 429's Discography
. Record Label: Word Records
. Album length: 12 tracks, 47 minutes and 49 seconds
. Street Date: July 27, 2004
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. Glory Defined
  2. Above It All
  3. Space In Between Us
  4. One Time Too Many
  5. Back to Me
  6. Shadow of Angels
  7. No One Else Knows
  8. Never Look Away
  9. Angeline
  10. Show Me Love
  11. You Are Loved
  12. Spirit Lives On
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH



This Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Heath McNease Notes, Volume 1 - EP (independent)


This Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Andy Mineo Always in a Rush (ft. Mez) - Single [Reach]
Anthony Sallee and Phil Keaggy Blackbird - Single (independent)


This Friday, October 30, 2020
1K Phew Already / Gas You Up - Single [Reach]
Audrey Assad Mortal (Live) - Single (independent)
Mack Brock Your Presence Is A Promise - Single [Capitol CMG]
The Dailys (Jillian Edwards & Ellie Holcomb) Falling Apart - Single [Tone Tree]
DOE DOE - EP [RCA Inspiration]
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound Wake Up - Single [StowTown]
for KING & COUNTRY A Drummer Boy Christmas [Curb/Word]
Koryn Hawthorne & Essential Worship The Song Sessions EP [Essential]
Hillsong Worship Take Heart (Again) [Capitol CMG]
Caitie Hurst At All Times - EP [Centricity]
JAG The Longest Road (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG The Only World In Town (Remastered) [Girder]
JAG Fire In the Temple (Remastered) [Girder]
Coby James Homesick - EP [Centricity]
JUDAH. Don't Know If I Believe It (feat. Jon Foreman) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Kings Kaleidoscope Power Perfect EP [Rainbow Records]
The Kingsmen The Wind and Waves Still Know - Single [Horizon]
Tori Kelly Tori Kelly Christmas [Capitol CMG]
LO Worship Compass - Single [LO Records]
My Epic Lower Still (feat. Levi The Poet) - Single [Facedown]
Passion Hope Has A Name [Capitol CMG]
Resistance Resistance EP [Integrity]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell [Capitol]
Tenth Avenue North Unplugged For The People (The Acoustic Greatest Hits) [Provident]
True Strength The Mighty Hand of Yahweh [Roxx]
We The Kingdom Light Of The World (Hallelujah) - Single [Capitol CMG]
Tauren Wells Famous For (I Believe) [Sunday A.M. Version] - Single [Provident]
Matthew West Live Before the World Shut Down - EP [Story House]


Next Monday, November 2, 2020
Manic Drive (Vol.1) EP (independent)


Next Friday, November 6, 2020
Cross Point Music Jesus Is King - Single [Centricity]
Open Heaven Triumph [DREAM]
Planetshakers Over It All [Ventur3Media]
Selah Step Into My Story [3Cre8tive]
Joel Vaughn Louder Than The Lies [DREAM]
Vineyard Worship You Speak [Vineyard]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new single from Anthony Sallee!


  • Image Mulan
    PG-13 (Digital HD)


Enter to win the Lord of the Rings Trilogy 4K SteelBook!