Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!
Get the new FREE JFH MP3 compilation -- Vol. 11!

JFH Music Review


MercyMe, The Hurt and The Healer
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE

MercyMe
The Hurt and The Healer



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 39 minutes, 13 seconds
Street Date: May 22, 2012


If there is a general market comparison to MercyMe, it might be the band Train. Both bands emerged around the same time in the late 90's and made an immediate impact with well-written songs that spoke for themselves. Both bands likewise put limited emphasis on "image" and have put out consistently solid (but not always great) records over the last decade. And every once and a while both bands bubble up to the surface again, not with gimmicks but with a good song or two.

The Hurt & the Healer is full of those pretty good songs, and beyond being a "good MercyMe song," a few numbers reveal a bit of a growth spurt. First single "Don't Give Up On Me" flirts with some Mutemath style kinetic, hyper-active drumming and processed vocals, and the soulful "Take The Time" finds lead singer Bart Millard dueting with Needtobreathe's Bear Rinehart over a gritty bed of slide guitars. The honest "southernness" of "Take The Time" is a great showcase for Millard's Texas twang, and hopefully inspires MercyMe to embrace their southern roots a bit more and not coat everything with an Adult Contemporary gloss. Both songs (and a few more, like the honestly funky "You Don't Care At All") show signs of life and indicate that the band is making headway.

"You Are I Am" is a worshipful, lyrical highlight; "I've been the one / held down in chains / beneath the weight of all my shame / I've been the one to believe / that where I am / You cannot reach." But later the songwriter wisely remembers grace, stating "It's not about falling / but where I land." This song has great promise, particularly in a live setting.

A few songs could have used a few more hours to marinate. The three closing tracks, "Hold On", "Best Of Me" and "The First Time," fall into the "paint by numbers" category and are, compared to the interesting and varied songs that come before them, a little boring. This has the unfortunate affect of blunting the pace of the album at the end.

Firmly in their second decade as a band, MercyMe is in dire need of breaking out of the Adult Contemporary mold, and The Hurt & the Healer shows signs that they might be on their way, however slowly, to a more diverse and creative future as an artist.

- PReview date: 5/16/12, Review date: 5/21/12, written by Tincan Caldwell of Jesusfreakhideout.com class="coversize" align=right> By all early indications, The Hurt & the Healer shows veteran act Mercyme heading in the right direction. First single "Don't Give Up On Me" flirts with some Mutemath style kinetic, hyperactive drumming and processed vocals, and the soulful "Take The Time" finds lead singer Bart Millard dueting with Needtobreathe's Bear Rineheart over a gritty bed of slide guitars. Both songs (and a few more, like the honestly funky "You Don't Care At All") show signs of life and indicate that the band is making headway.

Firmly in their second decade as a band, Mercyme is in dire need of breaking out of the Adult Contemporary mold, and The Hurt & the Healer shows signs that they might be on their way, albeit slowly, to a more diverse and creative future as an artist.

- PReview date: 5/16/12, written by Tincan Caldwell of Jesusfreakhideout.com --->



(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new EP from John Finch!

 

. Record Label: Fair Trade Services
. Album length: 10 tracks: 39 minutes, 13 seconds
. Street Date: May 22, 2012
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. You Know Better (3:27)
  2. You Don't Care At All (3:06)
  3. The Hurt & The Healer (4:51)
  4. To Whom It May Concern (3:38)
  5. You Are I Am (4:22)
  6. Take The Time (4:45)
  7. Don't Give Up On Me (3:57)
  8. Hold On (3:57)
  9. Best Of Me (3:30)
  10. The First Time (3:46)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

Leave a Comment


 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

              
Check out the new EP from John Finch!

Search JFH




This Friday, August 19, 2022
ALBUMS
Elevation Worship LION: Live From The Loft [Elevation]
The Kramers Sing Me There [StowTown]
TobyMac Life After Death [Capitol CMG]

SINGLES
Abandon Best Days - Single (independent)
Bethel Music I Still Believe (feat. Brian Johnson) - Single [Bethel]
Blanca Never Too Far (feat. Ty Brasel) - Single [Curb/Word]
Cody Carnes Good (Can't Be Anything Else) - Single [Capitol CMG]
David & Nicole Binion I See Jesus - Single [Integrity]
Todd McVicker Dynamite - Single [Lula Street]
Starflyer 59 The Rocky Valentines - Single [Velvet Blue]
Zach Williams Big Tent Revival - Single [Provident]


Next Monday, August 22, 2022
ALBUMS
Casting Crowns Healer (Deluxe) [Provident]


Next Friday, August 26, 2022
ALBUMS
Becoming the Archetype Children of the Great Extinction [Solid State]
Rend Collective Whosoever [Capitol CMG]
Matt Sassano In Defiance EP [Rockfest]

VINYL
Bride Drop (Vinyl) [Girder]
Dale Thompson and the Boon Dogs Dale Thompson and the Boon Dogs (Vinyl) [Girder]
Dale Thompson and the Boon Dogs I See Red (Vinyl) [Girder]

For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the New Album By Dan Loch & Jarred Cain!




Sign up for a JFH Indie Review

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images