Listen to the new album from May Angeles!
Listen to the new album from May Angeles!

JFH Song Lyrics

  Artist List   /   Red   /   Innocence & Instinct (Deluxe Edition)

14. Nothing and Everything (Deluxe Edition Bonus)

Innocence & Instinct (Deluxe Edition)
by Red



Behind the Song:
Bringing the album full circle, the final bonus track reinvents “Fight Inside” as a bleak confessional poured out over soul-darkened piano play and strings. Songwriter-guitarist Jasen Rauch explains, “‘Fight Inside’ best summarizes the dualism that drives the entire album, and we wanted to capture that concept in a musical form. The song shows how drastic two sides of the same coin can be.” Though the lyrics are essentially the same, this stripped-down version is more about mood and spirit with special emphasis on the “nothing and everything” bridge. Ironically, unlike in “Fight Inside,” in this version singer Michael Barnes never sings “nothing.” It’s as though some of the internal struggle is resolving itself. “These things are polar opposites, but we wanted to capture the dualism where both elements co-exist,” explains Rauch, “even though at any given moment, we might lean heavier in one direction. We wanted the album to finish on an optimistic tone.”




go to main Album page
Return to Full List of Artists


Listen to the new album from People & Songs

Search JFH

This Thursday, July 29, 2021
Panther City Riots Say It Like You Mean It - Single (independent)

This Friday, July 30, 2021
Coby James Mixtape Side B EP [Centricity]
Jonah 33 Bullet From A Gun - Single [Boleyn]
Vince Lichlyter Things I Need To Say - Single [Boleyn]
Make Sure Japanese Bonus Track - Single [Tooth & Nail]
NEEDTOBREATHE Into the Mystery [Centricity/Elektra]
Dottie Rambo It’s The Soul of Me (1968 Digital Reissue) [Provident/Sony]
Reba Rambo Reba Rambo (Digital Reissue) [eOne]
Sidewalk Prophets I Believe It Now (Alternate Versions) [Curb/Word]
SongLab Simplicity (Live) - EP [DREAM]

Next Friday, August 6, 2021
Lauren Daigle Tremble - Single [Centricity]
Tamela Mann Overcomer [Tillymann Music]
Mirours Dazzle - EP [Tooth & Nail]
Sanctus Real Rebel - Single [Fair Trade]
Anne Wilson My Jesus (Live from Nashville) EP [Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Wade McNutt!

Listen to the new album from Jaime Masetta!