Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!
Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!

JfH Music News


RSS Icon

NEWS SOURCE: Overture Media
February 24, 2009

Jeremy Camp Seattle, WA...February 24, 2009...Last Friday the 40th Annual Gospel Music Award nominees were announced in Nashville, Tennessee, which included 13 nominations for BEC Recordings / Tooth & Nail Records / Solid State Records that included four "albums" of the year in respective categories. Among those nominated were Jeremy Camp, who received his fifth "Male Vocalist of the Year" nomination (winner 2004, 2005), along with two nominations each for hip-hop artist Manafest (Hip Hop Song/Album), Jadon Lavik (Inspirational Song/Album), and KJ-52 (Hip Hip Song/Short Form Music Video).

In addition, Bebo Norman received his second Dove nomination on BEC Recordings, following his Christmas album nod in 2008. This year he was nominated for his studio self-titled release on the West Coast label, which garnered much praise. Other album nominations included "Rock Album" for the raved about "To Know that You're Alive" from Kutless, and the first Spanish nomination on the label from Seventh Day Slumber, "Rescatame." Once again dominating the "Recorded Music Packaging" category, the label(s) held three of the five nominations, including the GRAMMY-nominated packaging for "Hawk Nelson Is My Friend" (designer Don Clark).

BEC Recordings, Tooth&Nail Records, and Solid State Records are excited about what 2009 holds as they anticipate great new releases from Emery, Thousand Foot Krutch, Hawk Nelson, August Burns Red and many more stellar projects down the pipe, in addition to new artists And Then There Were None, Phillip LaRue, and Jaymes Reunion.

2009 Gospel Music Award / Dove Nominees:

Male Vocalist of the Year:
Jeremy Camp

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song:
"Do Yo Thang" KJ-52, The Yearbook
"So Beautiful" Manafest, Citizen Activ

Inspirational Recorded Song:
"Come Thou Fount" Jadon Lavik, Roots Run Deep

Rap/ Hip Hop Album:
Citizen Activ, Manafest

Rock Album:
To Know That You're Alive, Kutless

Pop/Contemporary Album:
Bebo Norman, Bebo Norman

Inspirational Album:
Roots Run Deep, Jadon Lavik

Recorded Music Packaging:
Hawk Nelson is My Friend, Hawk Neslon
Storm the Gates of Hell Deluxe Edition, Demon Hunter (Solid State Records)
The Tide Will Swallow Us Whole, Trenches (Solid State Records)

Short Form Music Video:
"Fan Mail," KJ-52

Spanish Language Album:
Rescatame, Seventh Day Slumber

About BEC Recordings:
Originally launched as a more commercially minded side of Tooth & Nail Records in 1997, BEC Recordings has since expanded with its own identity into one of the music industry's most celebrated imprints. BEC Recordings was placed on the map with artists such as Jeremy Camp, KJ-52, Kutless, and Falling Up, when the label began to receive significant CHR or AC radio attention. BEC artists soon became a staple at both formats. Outside of breaking through in multiple radio formats (a trend that continued with Hawk Nelson, Adie, Mainstay, Seventh Day Slumber, Telecast and many more) BEC also branched out to audiences from all walks of life, as evidenced by its increased presence in literally every facet of pop culture (including movie soundtracks, major retailer advertising campaigns and countless package tours). Come 2009, those trends continue with the aforementioned, along with viable newcomers to BEC, such as acclaimed tunesmith Bebo Norman, pop/acoustic artist Phillip LaRue plus pop/rocker Jaymes Reunion (all of whom Ebel hints are "destined to follow in the label pioneers footsteps"). For more information on BEC Recordings, visit .

About Tooth & Nail Records:
What began in a bedroom over a decade ago has grown organically to become the enthusiastic support system behind many of the most important rock bands operating, including Underoath, Emery, Hawk Nelson, Thousand Foot Krutch and The Almost. With headquarters in Seattle and offices in Nashville, Tennessee and elsewhere, Tooth & Nail Records is also the parent company to Solid State Records (Demon Hunter, Haste The Day) and BEC Recordings (Jeremy Camp, Kutless). Label founder Brandon Ebel became immersed in the network of musicians, clubs, fanzines and promoters who were making waves with bands whose positive messages (whether translated through melodic punk or heavy rock) and creative, inspired music. Driven to this unique perspective, the music press has caught on and embraced many T&N bands the kids already knew. With new signings like Family Force 5, Copeland, Capital Lights and The Becoming injecting fresh life into the company, Tooth & Nail continues to be a vital, dominant presence in the contemporary music scene. For more information, visit .




News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2018]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

Search JFH

This Thursday, August 13, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]

This Friday, August 14, 2020
Dave Barnes Dreaming in Electric Blue Reimagined (independent)
Bride Drop (25th Anniversary Edition) [Girder Records]
Tori Kelly Solitude EP [Capitol]
Life.Church Worship Jesus Is Near EP [DREAM Worship]
Tyson Mostenbocker Someday I'll Make It All Up To You: Summer Songs (Acoustic) EP [Tooth & Nail]
PEABOD Heavenly Father - Single [Centricity]
Kim Walker-Smith Wild Heart (Live) [Sparrow/Jesus Culture]

Next Friday, August 21, 2020
Hope Darst Peace Be Still [Fair Trade Services]
idle threat Nothing Is Broken For Good EP [Tooth & Nail]
Lecrae Restoration [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from I.AM!

Listen to the new album from The Grace Collective!